Wheelers Books

The Beauty of the Wolf

The Beauty of the Wolf

'What some might call beauty, I find monstrous' A stunning retelling of Beauty and the Beast, for fans of The Essex Serpent, The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Silent Companions.

Usually ships 4-6 weeks – This is an indent title (internationally sourced to order from a local supplier).

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780008217358
Barcode 9780008217358
Published 18 February 2019 by HarperCollins Publishers
Format Hardback, edition
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Delaney, Wray
Availability Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $37.00 Retail price
  • $27.75 Wheelers price
  • You save $9.25!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780008217358
ISBN-10 0008217351
Stock Available
Status Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint HQ
Publication Date 18 February 2019
International Publication Date 21 February 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback, edition
Edition edition
Author(s) By Delaney, Wray
Category General & Literary Fiction
Historical Fiction
Classic Fiction
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 159mm
Height: 240mm
Spine: 35mm
Weight 600g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Great Britain - Fiction - History - Elizabeth, 1558-1603
NBS Text Historical & Mythological Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 937172

Description of this Book

'What some might call beauty, I find monstrous' A stunning retelling of Beauty and the Beast, for fans of The Essex Serpent, The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Silent Companions. Pre-order now!

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Praise for The Beauty of the Wolf: `An amazing book... like a box of treasures' Meg Rosoff Praise for An Almond for a Parrot: `Shades of Sarah Waters...irresistible' Guardian `A bawdy, romping affair ... Delaney mixes up genres - historical fiction, erotica, magic realism - to create something original' Book of the Month in The Times, November 2016 `With elements of magical realism, plenty of sexy scenes, and a good dollop of drama, this is one hell of a read' The Sun `A saucy bodice-ripper that combines magical realist flights of fancy with a smattering of punchy feminist politics' The Metro `A compelling mix of bawdy romp and magical realism.'Red `A fun, explicit romp with real stakes that will have you trying to finish this book in one sitting' Stylist `An Almond for a Parrot romps and twists like the Fairy House girls in their bed chambers. It's full of lust and magic, but not without heart. It's an irresistible world to drop into.' Emerald Street
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Wray Delaney is the pen name of Sally Gardner, the award-winning children's novelist who has sold over 2 million books worldwide and been translated into 22 languages. She lives in London and this is her second adult novel.

^ top