Wheelers Books

The Beauty of the Wolf

The Beauty of the Wolf

'It is never wise to trust a witch' A stunning retelling of Beauty and the Beast, for fans of The Essex Serpent, The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Silent Companions.

Unfortunately, publisher restrictions limit this title's availability to school and public library account customers only.
School & Public Library Accounts please log in.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780008217372
Barcode 9780008217372
Published 28 March 2019 by HarperCollins Publishers
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, edition
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Delaney, Wray
Availability Title is temporarily out of stock

... view full title details below.

  • $34.99 Retail price
  • $26.24 Wheelers price
  • You save $8.75!

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780008217372
ISBN-10 0008217378
Stock Available
Status Title is temporarily out of stock
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint HQ
Publication Date 28 March 2019
International Publication Date 21 February 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, edition
Edition edition
Author(s) By Delaney, Wray
Category General & Literary Fiction
Historical Fiction
Classic Fiction
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 153mm
Height: 234mm
Spine: 29mm
Weight 490g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Great Britain - Fiction - History - Elizabeth, 1558-1603
NBS Text Historical & Mythological Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 972548

Description of this Book

'What some might call beauty, I find monstrous' A stunning retelling of Beauty and the Beast, for fans of The Essex Serpent, The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Silent Companions. Pre-order now!

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Praise for An Almond for a Parrot: `Shades of Sarah Waters...irresistible' The Guardian `A bawdy, romping affair ... Delaney mixes up genres - historical fiction, erotica, magic realism - to create something original' Book of the Month in The Times, November 2016 `With elements of magical realism, plenty of sexy scenes, and a good dollop of drama, this is one hell of a read' The Sun `A saucy bodice-ripper that combines magical realist flights of fancy with a smattering of punchy feminist politics' The Metro `A compelling mix of bawdy romp and magical realism.' Red `A fun, explicit romp with real stakes that will have you trying to finish this book in one sitting' Stylist `An Almond for a Parrot romps and twists like the Fairy House girls in their bed chambers. It's full of lust and magic, but not without heart. It's an irresistible world to drop into.' Emerald Street
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 2 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Wray Delaney is the pen name of Sally Gardner, the award-winning children's novelist who has sold over 2 million books worldwide and been translated into 22 languages. She lives in London and this is her second adult novel.

^ top