Wheelers Books
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

By Williams-Garcia, Rita
Illustrated by Morrison, Frank

  • RRP: $14.99
  • $11.24
  • Save $3.75
  • To Order

5 Starred Reviews! This slim novel strikes a strong chord -Publishers Weekly (starred review) This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart. -School Library Journal (starred review) Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story. -K...irkus Reviews (starred review) An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase. -The Horn Book (starred review) Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words. -Booklist (starred review)From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander. Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen-he can't wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton's mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that's no way to live.Armed with his grandfather's brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.
Read more

ISBN 9780062215932
Released NZ 21 May 2018
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780062215932
Stock Available
Status Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint HarperCollins Publishers
Released 21 May 2018
Publication Country United States United States
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
 › 1 other possible formats available
Author(s) By Williams-Garcia, Rita
Illustrated by Morrison, Frank
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Award Winning
Number of Pages 176
Dimensions Width: 139mm
Height: 209mm
Spine: 9mm
Dewey Code 813.6
Weight 119g
Interest Age 8-12 years
Reading Age 8-12 years
Library of Congress African Americans, Family life, Bereavement, Grandparent and child, Grandfathers - Death
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile

TOP