Wheelers Books

Dumplin'

Dumplin'
 

Sixteen-year-old Willowdean wants to prove to everyone in her small Texas town that she is more than just a fat girl, so, while grappling with her feelings for a co-worker who is clearly attracted to her, Will and some other misfits prepare to compete in the beauty pageant her mo... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – Title is in stock with supplier internationally

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780062327185
Barcode 9780062327185
Published 28 January 2016 by HarperCollins Publishers
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (9 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Murphy, Julie
Availability Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $38.99 Retail price
  • $31.19 Wheelers price
  • You save $7.80!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780062327185
ISBN-10 0062327186
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint Balzer and Bray
Publication Date 28 January 2016
International Publication Date 15 September 2015
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Murphy, Julie
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Award Winning
Personal Family, Relationship & Social Issues
Self-Awareness & Self-Esteem
Body & Health
Number of Pages 384
Dimensions Width: 140mm
Height: 210mm
Spine: 31mm
Weight 454g
Interest Age 13+ years
Reading Age 13+ years
Library of Congress Friendship, Texas, Dating (Social customs), Beauty contests, Overweight persons
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult
Dewey Code 813.6
Catalogue Code 604312

Description of this Book

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine--self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson--from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine--Dumplin' is guaranteed to steal your heart.Dubbed Dumplin' by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . . until Will takes a job at Harpy's, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn't surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back. Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant--along with several other unlikely candidates--to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way, she'll shock the hell out of Clover City--and maybe herself most of all.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

Awards Commended for Tayshas Reading 2016 -- Commended for Cybils (Young Adult Fiction) 2015
NZ Review DUMPLIN' should be required reading for anyone who has ever felt even slightly uncomfortable in his or her skin. Julie Murphy's star continues to shine with this groundbreaking, poignant story that will surely change lives. --John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of Noggin and Where Things Come Back
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 3 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Julie Murphy is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin', Puddin', Ramona Blue, and Side Effects May Vary. She lives in North Texas with her husband who loves her, her dog who adores her, and her cats who tolerate her. When she's not writing, she can be found reading, traveling, or hunting down the perfect slice of pizza. Before writing full time, she held numerous jobs, such as wedding dress consultant, failed barista, and, ultimately, librarian. Learn more about her at www.juliemurphywrites.com.

^ top