Wheelers Books
The Black Coats

The Black Coats (Hardback)

By Oakes, Colleen

  • RRP: $39.99
  • $29.99
  • Save $10.00
  • In stock

Ideal for fans of Moxie and The Female of the Species, this contemporary novel is about a secret society of girls who get revenge on the guys who hurt them. Both cathartic and thrilling, this is the story needed for the #MeToo and #Times'p era.

ISBN 9780062679628
Barcode 9780062679628
Published 18 February 2019 by HarperCollins Publishers
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Usually ships 4-6 weeks – This is an indent title (internationally sourced to order from a local supplier).

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780062679628
ISBN-10 0062679627
Stock Available
Status Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint HarperTeen
Publication Date 18 February 2019
International Publication Date 12 February 2019
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Oakes, Colleen
Category Personal Awareness: Safety Matters
Crime & Mystery
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 140mm
Height: 210mm
Spine: 32mm
Weight 442g
Interest Age 14+ years
Reading Age 14+ years
Library of Congress Secret societies - Fiction, Revenge - Fiction, High school students - Fiction, Grief in adolescence - Fiction, Austin Tex - Fiction
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult
Dewey Code 813.6
Catalogue Code 968911

Price & Availability Options

Source Pub. RRP Forex Disc. Price Frt Landed Cost
United States 12 Feb 19 USD $17.99 0.6047 0% $29.75 14%
Availability: In stock (Allow 6-12 working days)
New Zealand 18 Feb 19 NZD $39.99 0% $34.77
Availability: Indent order (Allow 4-6 weeks)
incl GST

Our Price Comparison tool calculates the international price allowing for tax and freight costs. The chart compares this to the locally sourced price/availability so you can select your preferred source. Supplier stock qty’s shown where provided, and can be subject to change due to other libraries shopping.
A '-' (dash) indicates stock quantity has not been provided by the supplier.

Description of this Book

ROSES ARE RED, VIOLETS ARE BLUE. IF YOU HURT US, WE'RE COMING FOR YOU. Moxie meets Female of the Species in this powerful, thrilling, and deeply resonant novel about a secret society of girls who plot revenge on the men who hurt them. The enigmatic Black Coats have been exacting vengeance on men who have hurt girls and women for years. The killer of Thea's cousin went free, and Thea has just received an invitation to join the Black Coats' balancings-acts of revenge meant to teach a lesson. Justice for Natalie has never felt so close. But as the balancings escalate in brutality, Thea's clear-cut mission begins to unravel and she must decide just how far she is willing to go for justice. Because when the line between justice and revenge is paper thin, it's hard not to get cut.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Praise for Queen of Hearts: Fans of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland will enjoy the twists Oakes gives to familiar characters. Heart-stopping action makes the pages fly, and Dinah's struggle to stay true to herself amid impossible expectations resonates. --Publishers Weekly Praise for Queen of Hearts: This latest in fairy tales retold makes the classic villain less villainous by showing her tenderhearted backstory. --Booklist Praise for Queen of Hearts: Every good villain deserves an origin story, and Oakes offers a fascinating glimpse into the mad queen's complex and heartbreaking past. The novel offers some wonderful reinventions of Carroll's classic, and fans of Alice's more sinister elements will appreciate Oakes' macabre touches. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Praise for Queen of Hearts: Oakes continues to weave literary magic as she pulls you down the rabbit hole into a Wonderland like you've never read before. --NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Chanda Hahn
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 2 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Colleen Oakes is the bestselling author of books for both teens and adults, including the Queen of Hearts trilogy and the Wendy Darling saga. She lives in North Denver with her husband and son and surrounds herself with the most lovely family and friends imaginable. When not penning new books, Colleen can be found swimming, traveling, reading, or advocating for adoption and literacy. Visit her at www.colleenoakes.com.

^ top