Wheelers Books

The Cutting Room

The Cutting Room
 

Detectives Ruth Lake and Greg Carver, introduced in the electrifying Splinter in the Blood, must stop a serial killer whose victims are the centerpiece of his macabre works of art. While Britain is obsessed with the newest hit true-crime television show, Fact, or Fable? detective... read full description below.

Available for pre-order internationally. Ships upon its international release date of 18 Jun 2019.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780062797704
Barcode 9780062797704
Published 18 June 2019 by William Morrow & Company
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Dyer, Ashley
Availability Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 18 Jun 2019

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $57.50 Retail price
  • $46.00 Wheelers price
  • You save $11.50!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780062797704
ISBN-10 0062797700
Stock Available
Status Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 18 Jun 2019
Publisher William Morrow & Company
Imprint William Morrow & Company
Publication Date 18 June 2019
Publication Country
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Dyer, Ashley
Category Adventure / Thriller
Crime & Mystery Fiction
Number of Pages 448
Dimensions Width: 152mm
Height: 229mm
Spine: 35mm
Weight 454g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text Crime, Thriller & Adventure
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code 970974

Description of this Book

Detectives Ruth Lake and Greg Carver, introduced in the electrifying Splinter in the Blood, must stop a serial killer whose victims are the centerpiece of his macabre works of art. While Britain is obsessed with the newest hit true-crime television show, Fact, or Fable? detectives Ruth Lake and Greg Carver are tormented by a fiendish flesh-and-blood killer on the loose. Lured to a crime scene by a mysterious digital invitation, Ruth Lake is horrified by what she finds: a bizarre and gruesome tableau surrounded by a crowd of gawkers. The deadly work is the latest art installation designed by a diabolical criminal dubbed the Ferryman. Not only is this criminal cold-blooded; he's a narcissistic exhibitionist desperate for an audience. He's also clever at promoting his deadly handiwork. Exploiting England's current true-crime craze, he uses social media to titillate and terrorize the public. Ruth is joined in the investigation by her partner Greg Carver, who is slowly regaining his strength after a run-in with another sadistic criminal. But Greg can't seem to shake the bewildering effects of the head wound that nearly ended him. Are the strange auras blurring his vision an annoying side effect of his injury, or could they be something more . . . a tool to help him see a person's true nature? In this utterly engrossing and thrilling tale of suspense, a pair of seasoned detectives face off against a wickedly smart and inventive psychopath in a tense, bloody game that leads to a shocking end.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review This novel starts off with a bang of a puzzler and keeps surprising all the way through...Very nice start to a new series. --Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine on Splinter in the Blood Compelling, clever. Packed with macabre and fascinating forensic details. A stunning debut. --Mo Hayder, bestselling author of Gone, on Splinter in the Blood A taut and compelling thriller, as sharp as the thorns that feature in the plot. --Ann Cleeves, Internationally Bestselling Author of the Vera Stanhope and Shetland series, on Splinter in the Blood [An] enthralling debut.... The skillfully constructed plot complements the intriguing characters, including a deliciously creepy killer who lurks in the background. Dyer is definitely a crime writer to watch. --Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Splinter in the Blood One of the boldest, most inventive serial-killer thrillers since The Silence of the Lambs. Packed with forensic detail, anchored by a protagonist as complicated as she is compelling, this ferocious novel is perfect for fans of Jeffery Deaver and Lisa Gardner. --A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Woman in the Window, on Splinter in the Blood With complicated leads and a ruthless killer whose method is barbaric enough to be frightening without shading into the grotesque, this is a debut worthy of sequels. --Kirkus Reviews on Splinter in The Blood [T]his debut spins to a breathless conclusion. Solid suspense fiction by a knowledgeable duo. --Booklist on Splinter in the Blood

^ top

Author's Bio

Ashley Dyer is a writing duo based in the United Kingdom. Margaret Murphy is a Writing Fellow and Reading Round Lector for the Royal Literary Fund, a past chair of the Crime Writers Association (CWA), and founder of Murder Squad. A CWA Short Story Dagger winner, she has been shortlisted for the First Blood critics' award for crime fiction as well as the CWA Dagger in the Library. Under her own name she has published nine psychological suspense and police procedural novels. Helen Pepper is a senior lecturer in policing at Teesside University. She has been an analyst, forensic scientist, scene of crime officer, CSI, and crime scene manager. She has coauthored, as well as contributed to, professional policing texts. Her expertise is in great demand with crime writers: she is a judge for the CWA's Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction Award, and is a forensic consultant on both the Vera and Shetland TV series.

^ top