Wheelers Books
How High We Go in the Dark
  

How High We Go in the Dark (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Large type / large print edition)

By Nagamatsu, Sequoia

  • RRP: $63.99
  • $59.67
  • Save $4.32
  • In Stock US

For fans of Cloud Atlas and Station Eleven, a spellbinding and profoundly prescient debut that follows a cast of intricately linked characters over hundreds of years as humanity struggles to rebuild itself in the aftermath of a climate plague--a daring and deeply heartfelt work o...f mind-bending imagination from a singular new voice. Beginning in 2030, a grieving archeologist arrives in the Arctic Circle to continue the work of his recently deceased daughter at the Batagaika crater, where researchers are studying long-buried secrets now revealed in melting permafrost, including the perfectly preserved remains of a girl who appears to have died of an ancient virus. Once unleashed, the Arctic Plague will reshape life on earth for generations to come, quickly traversing the globe, forcing humanity to devise a myriad of moving and inventive ways to embrace possibility in the face of tragedy. In a theme park designed for terminally ill children, a cynical employee falls in love with a mother desperate to hold on to her infected son. A heartbroken scientist searching for a cure finds a second chance at fatherhood when one of his test subjects--a pig--develops the capacity for human speech. A widowed painter and her teenaged granddaughter embark on a cosmic quest to locate a new home planet. From funerary skyscrapers to hotels for the dead to interstellar starships, Sequoia Nagamatsu takes readers on a wildly original and compassionate journey, spanning continents, centuries, and even celestial bodies to tell a story about the resiliency of the human spirit, our infinite capacity to dream, and the connective threads that tie us all together in the universe.
Read more

ISBN 9780063211384
Publisher HarperLuxe
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, Large type / large print edition
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Internationally sourced; ships 10-15 working days

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780063211384
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 10-15 working days
Publisher HarperLuxe
Imprint HarperLuxe
Publication Country
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, Large type / large print edition
 › 3 other possible formats available
Edition Large type / large print edition
Author(s) By Nagamatsu, Sequoia
Category Modern Fiction
Science Fiction
Number of Pages 432
Dimensions Width: 150mm
Height: 226mm
Spine: 28mm
Dewey Code 813.6
Weight 440g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Science fiction, Large type books, Plague, Virus diseases, Novels
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade

TOP