Wheelers Books

The Scholar

The Scholar
 

From the author of The Ruin comes a compulsive new crime thriller set in the fiercely competitive, cutthroat world of research and academia, where the brightest minds will stop at nothing to succeed. When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – Title is in stock with supplier internationally

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780143133698
Barcode 9780143133698
Published 14 May 2019 by Penguin
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (6 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By McTiernan, Dervla
Availability Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $34.50 Retail price
  • $27.60 Wheelers price
  • You save $6.90!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780143133698
ISBN-10 0143133691
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Penguin
Imprint Penguin Books
Publication Date 14 May 2019
Publication Country
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By McTiernan, Dervla
Category Adventure / Thriller
Crime & Mystery Fiction
Number of Pages 384
Dimensions Width: 140mm
Height: 210mm
Spine: 21mm
Weight 331g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text Crime, Thriller & Adventure
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

From the author of The Ruin comes a compulsive new crime thriller set in the fiercely competitive, cutthroat world of research and academia, where the brightest minds will stop at nothing to succeed. When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, making him first on the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him. The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal--her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland's most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy--it has funded even Emma's own ground-breaking research. As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac's running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy? A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The Ruin, an expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden (Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter), The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Praise for The Ruin Addictive . . . The Ruin, set in Ireland, follows detective Cormac Reilly as he reopens an investigation from 20 years ago. He's determined to connect Hilaria Blake's overdose in the past to her son Jack's recent death. Get invested now, because there are at least two more Cormac Reilly books coming in the future. --HelloGiggles A gripping mystery set in Galway that spans 20 years. It's a complicated page-turning story that touches on corruption, clandestine cover-ups, and criminal conspiracy. . . . A story that's as moving as it is fast-paced. --The Daily Mail This searing debut brings together procedural and psychological thriller for a fascinating portrait of small-town Ireland and its big city problems. Addiction, suicide, corruption, and desperation all play their part in this intricate, unsettling noir. Ireland's experiencing an incredible new wave of women crime writers, spearheaded by the indomitable Tana French, and Dervla McTiernan is a fine new addition to a growing scene. --LitHub Dervla McTiernan's deliciously complicated police procedural The Ruin begins when a young man jumps to his death from a bridge in Galway, Ireland--or does he? His girlfriend doesn't think Jack took his life, and neither does the detective who knew him from another case twenty years earlier. But the harder they dig for answers, the farther the truth recedes, and the more complicated and dangerous their investigation becomes. Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan's expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden. --Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter The Ruin is dark and compelling, with the satisfaction of a police procedural and the atmosphere of a gothic mystery. I was gripped by it, and by the complicated, resourceful characters of Aisling and Maude. --Flynn Berry, author of Under the Harrow Powerful . . . McTiernan neatly ties [the threads of the novel] all together in the suspenseful conclusion. McTiernan, born in Ireland but now living in Australia, is a writer to watch. --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

^ top

Author's Bio

Dervla McTiernan was born in Ireland and now lives with her family in Australia, where she works for the Mental Health Commission. She is also the author of The Ruin.

^ top