Wheelers Books

Wildboy

Wildboy
  

"The full story of Brando 'Wildboy' Yelavich's whirlwind tour of the coastline of New Zealand: 8000km entirely on foot"--Publisher information.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780143573159
Barcode 9780143573159
Published 24 June 2015 by Penguin
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Yelavich, Brando
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $35.00 Retail price
  • $26.25 Wheelers price
  • You save $8.75!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780143573159
ISBN-10 0143573152
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Penguin
Imprint Penguin Books (NZ)
Publication Date 24 June 2015
Publication Country New Zealand New Zealand
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Yelavich, Brando
Category Award Winning
Biography & Autobiography: Sport
Active Outdoor Pursuits
NZ, Maori & Pasifika
New Zealand & Related
Number of Pages 288
Dimensions Width: 155mm
Height: 216mm
Spine: 21mm
Weight 330g
Interest Age 18+ years
Reading Age 18+ years
NBS Text Autobiography: Sport
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 796.50993092
Catalogue Code 571023

Description of this Book

Fast going off the rails and hanging out with the wrong crowd, Brando Yelavich, a plucky 20-year-old from Auckland's North Shore, decided he needed to change his life. He needed a mission. He was going to walk around New Zealand. Brando reached Cape Reinga on 23 August 2014 after a gruelling journey of almost 8000 kilometres, traversed completely on foot over more than 600 days - the first time it had been done. It was an outlandish odyssey of physical and mental fortitude. He slept under the stars and lived off the land. He almost drowned on several occasions and experienced near-hypothermia. He gained 20 kilograms. But the transformation run much deeper. As much for fans of Bear Grylls or Cheryl Strayed's Wild as it is for those of the off-the-grid outdoors Kiwi experience, Wildboy is a ripping adventure story with an inspiring life change at its heart.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

Awards Short-listed for New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults: HELL Children's Choice Non-Fiction 2016

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Brando Yelavich was born in Auckland. He spent most of his school years there before variously living in Coromandel, Cromwell and Nelson, where he now resides and studies outdoor pursuits. In 2015, he published a bestselling memoir, Wildboy- An Epic Trek around the Coast of New Zealand.

^ top