Wheelers Books
The Serial Garden: The Complete Armitage Family Stories

The Serial Garden: The Complete Armitage Family Stories (Paperback)

By Aiken, Joan
Illustrated by Bailey, Peter

  • RRP: $19.99
  • $15.59
  • Save $4.40
  • In Stock At Publisher

This is the first complete collection of Joan Aiken's beloved Armitage stories-and it includes four new, unpublished stories

ISBN 9780349005850
Barcode 9780349005850
Published 13 October 2015 by Little, Brown Book Group
Format Paperback
Series Virago modern classics (part: 2130)
In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780349005850
ISBN-10 0349005850
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
Imprint Virago Press Ltd
Publication Date 13 October 2015
International Publication Date 6 August 2015
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Aiken, Joan
Illustrated by Bailey, Peter
Series Virago modern classics (part: 2130)
Category Short Stories & Anthologies
Short Stories
Number of Pages 448
Dimensions Width: 167mm
Height: 198mm
Spine: 30mm
Weight 328g
Interest Age 9-11 years
Reading Age 9-11 years
Library of Congress Children's stories, English
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code 823.914
Catalogue Code 603027

Description of this Book

After Mrs. Armitage makes a wish, the Armitage family has interesting and unusual experiences every Monday (and the occasional Tuesday). The Board of Incantation tries to take over their house to use as a school for young wizards; the Furies come to stay; and a cutout from a cereal box leads into a beautiful and tragic palace garden. Charming and magical, the uncommon lives of the Armitage family will thrill and delight readers young and old. Includes Joan Aiken's Prelude from Armitage, Armitage, Fly Away Home, as well as introductions from Joan Aiken's daughter, Lizza Aiken, and best-selling author Garth Nix

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Joan Aiken's invention seemed inexhaustible, her high spirits a blessing, her sheer storytelling zest a phenomenon. She was a literary treasure, and her books will continue to delight for many years to come. -- Philip Pullman A writer of wild humour and unrestrained imagination Oxford Companion to Children's Literature She was a consummate story-teller, one that each generation discovers anew -- Amanda Craig The Times
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 3 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Joan Aiken (Author) Joan Aiken (1924-2004) was born in Rye, Sussex. She was the daughter of the American poet Conrad Aiken, and her step-father was English writer Martin Armstrong. Joan Aiken wrote over 100 books for young readers and adults and is recognised as one of the classic children's authors of the twentieth century. Her best-known books are The Wolves of Willoughby Chase chronicles and the Arabel's Raven series, but she is also famous for her brilliant short stories. Joan Aiken received the Edgar Allan Poe Award in the United States as well as the Guardian Award for Fiction. She was decorated with an MBE for her services to children's books.

^ top