Wheelers Books

The Au Pair: A spellbinding mystery full of dark family secrets

The Au Pair: A spellbinding mystery full of dark family secrets

A tautly plotted Gothic mystery of dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Kate Riordan.

Usually ships 7-15 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780349419091
Barcode 9780349419091
Published 11 December 2018 by Little, Brown Book Group
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Rous, Emma
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 7-15 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $34.99 Retail price
  • $27.29 Wheelers price
  • You save $7.70!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780349419091
ISBN-10 0349419094
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 7-15 working days
Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
Imprint Piatkus Books
Publication Date 11 December 2018
International Publication Date 6 December 2018
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Rous, Emma
Category Adventure / Thriller
Number of Pages 416
Dimensions Width: 152mm
Height: 232mm
Spine: 34mm
Weight 520g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text Crime, Thriller & Adventure
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 944257

Description of this Book

A tautly plotted Gothic mystery of dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Kate Riordan.Seraphine Mayes and her brother Danny are known as the summer-born Summerbournes: the first set of summer twins to be born at Summerbourne House, a crumbling manor on the Norfolk coast. But on the day they were born their mother threw herself to her death over the cliffs behind their house, their au pair fled, and the village thrilled with whispers of dark-cloaked figures, changelings and a stolen baby.Now twenty-five, and mourning the recent death of their father, Seraphine's brothers join her at Summerbourne to go through their father's things. When they uncover a family photograph taken on the day the twins were born featuring both parents posing with just one baby, Seraphine becomes fixated with the notion that she and Danny might not be twins after all, that she wasn't the baby born that day, and that there was more to her mother's death than she has ever been told...This captivating mystery of who is really who will enthrall, entertain and keep you guessing until the very end - because memories, it seems, should never be trusted.'Don't just pick up and read Emma Rous' Summerbourne, dive into it and get washed away with it' A bookseller

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review 'Don't just pick up and read Emma Rous' Summerbourne, dive into it and get washed away with it' * A bookseller *
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 3 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Emma Rous spent her childhood in England, Indonesia, Kuwait, Portugal and Fiji, and grew up wanting to write stories and look after animals. She studied veterinary medicine and zoology at the University of Cambridge and worked as a small animal vet for eighteen years before starting to write in 2016. Emma lives in Cambridgeshire with her husband and three sons, and she now writes full time.

^ top