Wheelers Books

Made By Maxine

Made By Maxine
 

Meet Maxine, an inspiring young maker who knows that with enough effort and imagination (and mistakes), it's possible to invent anything.

Unfortunately, publisher restrictions limit this title's availability to school and public library account customers only.
School & Public Library Accounts please log in.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780399186295
Barcode 9780399186295
Published 3 December 2018 by Penguin
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Spiro, Ruth
Illustrated by Hatam, Holly
Availability Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

  • $35.00 Retail price
  • $28.00 Wheelers price
  • You save $7.00!

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780399186295
ISBN-10 0399186298
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Penguin
Imprint Dial Books for Young Readers,US
Publication Date 3 December 2018
International Publication Date 9 October 2018
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Spiro, Ruth
Illustrated by Hatam, Holly
Category Not specified
Number of Pages 32
Dimensions Width: 225mm
Height: 235mm
Spine: 12mm
Weight 328g
Interest Age 2-5 years
Reading Age 2-5 years
Library of Congress Inventors, Aquarium fishes, Aquariums, Fishes, Parades
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code 813.6
Catalogue Code 949931

Description of this Book

Maxine loves making new things from old things. She loves tinkering until she has solved a problem. She also loves her pet goldfish, Milton. So when it's time for her school's pet parade, she's determined to create something that will allow Milton to march with the other animals. Finally, after trying, trying, and trying again, she discovers just the right combination of recycled odds and ends to create a fun, functional--and absolutely fabulous--solution to her predicament.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review This a great choice for fans of Andrea Beaty's Ada Twist, Scientist and Jenny Offill's 11 Experiments That Failed.... A fun and uplifting picture book for all libraries that encourages children to engage with STEM concepts. - School Library Journal
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 1 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Ruth Spiro is the author of the Baby Loves Science series and Lester Fizz, Bubble-Gum Artist. She lives in Chicago. Holly Hatam is an illustrator and graphic designer. She holds a degree in graphic design and fine arts. She is also the owner and designer of TearDrop Paperie, where she designs and sells cheeky paper products.

^ top