Wheelers Books

In Darkling Wood

In Darkling Wood
 

Originally published: London: Faber & Faber, 2015.

Sorry, title is now out of print.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780399556012
Barcode 9780399556012
Published 14 March 2017 by DELACORTE
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (6 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Carroll, Emma
Availability Out of print

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780399556012
ISBN-10 039955601X
Stock Out of stock
Status Out of print
Publisher DELACORTE
Imprint Delacorte Press
Publication Date 14 March 2017
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Carroll, Emma
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Personal Family, Relationship & Social Issues
Science Fiction
Number of Pages 240
Dimensions Width: 140mm
Height: 211mm
Spine: 25mm
Weight 363g
Interest Age Children
Reading Age Children
Library of Congress Brothers and sisters, Magic, Fairies, Fantasy, World War, 1914-1918
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

For fans of The Secret Garden, The Indian in the Cupboard, Tuck Everlasting, and The Giving Tree. In Darkling Wood is a spine-tingling novel with a forthright, modern heroine and more than a hint of mystery and magic. When Alice is suddenly bundled off to her estranged grandmother s Nell s house, there s nothing good about it, except the beautiful Darkling Wood at the end of the garden but Nell wants to have it cut down. Alice feels at home there, at peace. She even finds a friend, a girl named Flo. But Flo doesn t go to the local school, and no one in town has heard of her. When Flo shows Alice the surprising secrets of Darkling Wood, Alice starts to wonder: what is real? And can she find out in time to save the wood from destruction?

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review A haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption. <i>Booklist</i>starred review Absorbing and well written. Hand this to readers who enjoy fantasy, fairy tales, and magical realism. <i>School Library Journal</i>starred review

^ top

Author's Bio

Emma Carroll is a high school English teacher. She has also worked as a reporter, an avocado picker, and the person who punches holes into Filofax paper. She recently graduated with distinction from Bath Spa University with an MA in Writing For Young People. She lives in the Somerset hills of southwest England with her husband and two terriers. To learn more about Emma and her books, visit her at emmacarrollauthor.wordpress.com or follow @emmac2603 on Twitter.

^ top