Wheelers Books

This Is Really Happening

This Is Really Happening

In turns hysterically funny and heartbreakingly poignant, Erin recounts everything from meeting her soulmate at age 14 to her first chemotherapy session at age 19 to what really goes on behind the scenes at a major Internet media company. She authentically captures the agony and ... read full description below.

Usually ships 4-6 weeks – This is an indent title (internationally sourced to order from a local supplier).

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780448493589
Barcode 9780448493589
Published 18 May 2017 by Penguin
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Chack, Erin
Availability Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $37.00 Retail price
  • $27.75 Wheelers price
  • You save $9.25!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780448493589
ISBN-10 0448493586
Stock Available
Status Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
Publisher Penguin
Imprint Grosset & Dunlap Inc.,U.S.
Publication Date 18 May 2017
International Publication Date 25 April 2017
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Chack, Erin
Category Humour & Jokes
Personal Family, Relationship & Social Issues
Body & Health
Number of Pages 240
Dimensions Width: 147mm
Height: 214mm
Spine: 23mm
Weight 358g
Interest Age 13+ years
Reading Age 13+ years
Library of Congress Journalists, Women, Women journalists, Journalists - United States, Generation Y - United States
NBS Text Young Adult General Interest & Leisure
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code B
Catalogue Code 736691

Description of this Book

BuzzFeed editor Erin Chack hits you in the guts, the feels, and the funny bone all at once with this collection of personal essays that reads like Sloane Crosley for the Snapchat generation. In turns hysterically funny and heartbreakingly poignant, Erin recounts everything from meeting her soulmate at age 14 to her first chemotherapy session at age 19 to what really goes on behind the scenes at a major Internet media company. She authentically captures the agony and the ecstasy of the millennial experience, whether it's her first kiss ( Sean s tongue! In my mouth! Slippery and wet like a slug in the rain. ) or her struggles with anxiety ( When people throw caution to the wind, I am stuck imagining the poor soul who has to break his back sweeping caution into a dustpan ). Yet Erin also offers a fresh perspective on universal themes of resilience and love as she writes about surviving cancer including learning of her mother's own cancer diagnosis within the same year and her attempts to hide the diagnosis from friends to avoid un-normaling everything. Perfect for fans of Jenny Lawson, Amy Poehler, and Kelly Williams Brown, this sharply observed memoir introduces Erin Chack as a strikingly original new voice.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review With the same humor that has brought her writing gazillions of views on Buzzfeed, Erin Chack finds humor within the pain and awkwardness of her adolescence. THIS IS REALLY HAPPENING is like a YA version of Tina Fey's Bossypants. -Josh Sundquist, author of <i>We Should Hang Out Sometime </i>and <i>Just Don't Fall</i> Erin Chack's laugh-out-loud funny and deeply affecting book made me want to call my college friends, pack up a car, and have a wild, imperfect adventure. -Katie Heaney, author of <i>Never Have I Ever</i> and <i>Dear Emma </i>Erin has this incredible ability to spot humor in unexpected places, from cancer treatments to fearing death to young love. I was endlessly tickled by her wit and captivated by her story. -Shane Burcaw, author of <i>Laughing at My Nightmare </i>

^ top

Author's Bio

Erin Chack was raised in New Jersey, where she formed strong opinions about bagels and absorbed the music of Bruce Springsteen without meaning to. She's a senior editor at BuzzFeed dot com the website, where her posts have received over 250 million views to date. She lives in Astoria, Queens, with plants that are definitely still alive and not dead haha why would you even suggest that. This Is Really Happening is her first book. Follow her on Twitter @ErinChack.

^ top