Wheelers Books
We Are the Perfect Girl

We Are the Perfect Girl (Hardback)

By Kaplan, Ariel

  • RRP: $37.00
  • $29.60
  • Save $7.40
  • To Order

This witty, warmhearted retelling of Cyrano de Bergerac by the author of We Regret to Inform You is a love letter to female friendship that's ideal for fans of Stephanie Perkins, and anyone who's ever thought of trying on a new identity to impress a guy.

ISBN 9780525647102
Barcode 9780525647102
Published 28 May 2019 by Misc - United Book Distributor
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780525647102
ISBN-10 0525647104
Stock Available
Status Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
Imprint Pisces Books
Publication Date 28 May 2019
International Publication Date 21 May 2019
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Kaplan, Ariel
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Number of Pages 384
Dimensions Width: 139mm
Height: 210mm
Spine: 25mm
Weight 516g
Interest Age Children / Young Adults
Reading Age Children / Young Adults
Library of Congress Friendship, Triangles (Interpersonal relations), Dating (Social customs), Mistaken identity, High school students
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code 974242

Description of this Book

This witty, warm-hearted retelling of Cyrano de Bergerac is a love letter to female friendship. Perfect for Stephanie Perkins fans, and anyone who's ever thought of trying on a new identity to impress a guy. Aphra Brown is bold and outgoing. Her best friend, Bethany, is achingly beautiful. Individually, they could both do a little better in the self-esteem department, but together? Together, they have what it takes to win over Greg D'Agostino, a proverbial ten, who happens to be fluent in six languages--seven if you count the language of smoldering gazes . . . What begins as an honest mistake turns into an elaborate deception, wherein Bethany goes on dates with Greg while Aphra coaches her on what to say, and texts him in the guise of Bethany, trying and failing, all the while, to tamp down her own hopeless crush. It's only a matter of time before things come crashing down. The question is: What will happen when Greg finds out? And can Aphra and Bethany's friendship survive the fallout? From the author of We Regret to Inform You comes a witty, warm-hearted exploration of love in all its forms, and a cris-de-coeur for self-acceptance when the pressure to be perfect is overwhelming.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review This charming story about family, friendship, and battling insecurities had me laughing aloud and rooting for love. From funny to poignant to perfect ending, We Are the Perfect Girl delivers. --Wendelin Van Draanen, author of The Running Dream We Are the Perfect Girl is hilarious, smart, winsome, and an all-around delight. I philia this book. --Blair Thornburgh, author of Who's That Girl? Hilarious, heartfelt, and painfully real, this pitch-perfect, sharp-tongued take on Cyrano is the coming-of-age of my teenage dreams. --Dahlia Adler, author of Just Visiting

^ top

Author's Bio

ARIEL KAPLAN began life as an imperfect baby, matured into an imperfect child, and remains an imperfect adult, though she does occasionally make a perfect chocolate cupcake (the trick, you see, is to leave out the eggs, which interfere with the chocolate flavor). Her first two books, Grendel's Guide to Love and War and We Regret to Inform You received five starred reviews between them, and were included in best-of-the-year lists from Kirkus and Bank Street, among other honors. She lives in Virginia with her family, where she is always working on her next novel. Visit her at aekaplan.com Follow her on Twitter @ae_kaplan

^ top