Wheelers Books

In Darkling Wood

In Darkling Wood
 

For fans of Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon, Jack Cheng's See You in the Cosmos, and Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe, In Darkling Wood is a haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption (Booklist, Starred Review). When Alice is suddenly bundl... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – Title is in stock with supplier internationally

Quick Reference

ISBN 9780606409575
Barcode 9780606409575
Published 20 March 2018 by Turtleback Books
Format Library Binding, Bound for Schools & Libraries ed.
Alternate Format(s) View All (6 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Carroll, Emma
Availability Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $38.50 Wheelers price
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780606409575
ISBN-10 0606409572
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Turtleback Books
Imprint Turtleback Books
Publication Date 20 March 2018
Publication Country
Format Library Binding, Bound for Schools & Libraries ed.
Edition Bound for Schools & Libraries ed.
Author(s) By Carroll, Emma
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Personal Family, Relationship & Social Issues
Fantasy & Magical Realism
Number of Pages 256
Dimensions Width: 132mm
Height: 191mm
Spine: 25mm
Weight 249g
Interest Age Children / Young Adults
Reading Age Children / Young Adults
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

For fans of Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon, Jack Cheng's See You in the Cosmos, and Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe, In Darkling Wood is a haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption (Booklist, Starred Review). When Alice is suddenly bundled off to her estranged grandmother's Nell's house, there's nothing good about it, except the beautiful Darkling Wood at the end of the garden--but Nell wants to have it cut down. Alice feels at home there, at peace. She even finds a friend, a girl named Flo. But Flo doesn't go to the local school, and no one in town has heard of her. When Flo shows Alice the surprising secrets of Darkling Wood, Alice starts to wonder: what is real? And can she find out in time to save the wood from destruction? And don't miss Emma Carroll's newest novel, Strange Star! A haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption. --Booklist, Starred Review A tale brimming with emotion and atmosphere....[In Darkling Wood] is absorbing and well written. Hand this to readers who enjoy fantasy, fairy tales, and magical realism. --School Library Journal, Starred Review Magic and mystery adds appeal to this already compelling family drama...and Carroll manages to wrap all of the threads into a wholly satisfying ending. --Bulletin Beautifully drawn, and the pragmatic prose and completely modern language (except for the letters) ground the story. The fairies aren't covered in pixie dust here. Carroll is becoming well-known in her native England; this book should win her American fans. -Kirkus Reviews

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review a A haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption. --Booklist, Starred Review a A tale brimming with emotion and atmosphere....[In Darkling Wood] is absorbing and well written. Hand this to readers who enjoy fantasy, fairy tales, and magical realism. --School Library Journal, Starred Review Magic and mystery adds appeal to this already compelling family drama...and Carroll manages to wrap all of the threads into a wholly satisfying ending. --The Bulletin Beautifully drawn, and the pragmatic prose and completely modern language (except for the letters) ground the story. The fairies aren't covered in pixie dust here. Carroll is becoming well-known in her native England; this book should win her American fans. --Kirkus Reviews

^ top

Author's Bio

Emma Carroll is a high school English teacher. She has also worked as a reporter, an avocado picker, and the person who punches holes into Filofax paper. She recently graduated with distinction from Bath Spa University with an MA in Writing For Young People. She lives in the Somerset hills of southwest England with her husband and two terriers. To learn more about Emma and her books, visit emmacarrollauthor.wordpress.com, follow @emmac2603 on Twitter, and look for Strange Star, her newest novel also available from Delacorte Press.

^ top