Wheelers Books
Great Circle: Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2021

Great Circle: Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2021 (Hardback)

By Shipstead, Maggie

  • RRP: $37.00
  • $28.86
  • Save $8.14
  • To Order

For fans of The Goldfinch, All the Light We Cannot See and The Girls: this monumentally powerful epic weaves together the astonishing lives of a daredevil female aviator and the Hollywood rebel who will play her on screen. 'Outrageously gifted' RICHARD RUSSO 'Ferociously clever' ...GUARDIAN From the days of giant passenger ships sliding past Arctic icebergs, to the daring pilots of WWII, to present-day Hollywood and its malcontents, at the core of this story is the indomitable Marian Graves and her twin brother Jamie who are twice abandoned by their parents. Marian and Jamie grow up roaming Montana forests, more comfortable with landscape than with people. When a pair of aerobats take their exhilarating show to a nearby airfield, Marian's life is changed forever. Watching them roll, dive, and loop in their mini plane, she can think of nothing else but flying. As she grows into a woman, she sacrifices everything to command the breathtaking sense of freedom, of utter control over her own fate, that she feels when in the air. She becomes one of the most fearless pilots of her time, and in 1949 she sets out to do what no one has done before: fly the Great Circle around the earth, north to south around the poles. Shortly before completing the journey, her plane disappears, lost to history. In 2015, Hadley Baxter, former child star and poster girl of the blockbuster Archangel franchise, has just been fired for cheating on her on-screen boyfriend. Struggling to escape the fury of the fans, she grasps at an offer for the comeback role of a lifetime: to play the famed female pilot Marian Graves in a biopic. From the first pages of the script, she feels an instant connection with Marian, a woman who refused to be bound by gravity or any of the other strictures of her time. After filming is complete, her bond grows stronger as she begins to question whether the Great Marian Graves really did die at all. Maggie Shipstead is the author of the bestselling and prize-winning debut novel SEATING ARRANGMENTS.With GREAT CIRCLE, she cements her place among a famed list of American Literary Stars as one of the greatest storytellers of our time.
Read more

ISBN 9780857526809
Released NZ 27 May 2021
Publisher Transworld Publishers
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9780857526809
Stock Available
Status Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
Publisher Transworld Publishers
Imprint Doubleday
Released 27 May 2021
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback
 › 1 other possible formats available
Author(s) By Shipstead, Maggie
Category Modern Fiction
Historical Adventure Fiction
Historical Fiction
Second World War fiction
Number of Pages 608
Dimensions Width: 170mm
Height: 250mm
Spine: 40mm
Dewey Code 813.6
Weight 798g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade

TOP