Wheelers Books

Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races

Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races
  

Silver Batal, a young desert-dweller, dreams of becoming a water dragon racer, and when she befriends a rare dragon that can swim and fly, she may just get her chance.

Unfortunately, publisher restrictions limit this title's availability to school and public library account customers only.
School & Public Library Accounts please log in.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781250181077
Barcode 9781250181077
Published 4 June 2019 by Henry Holt & Company Inc
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Halbrook, K. D.
Illustrated by Gort, Ilse
Series Silver Batal (part: 1)
Availability Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

  • $36.99 Retail price
  • $29.59 Wheelers price
  • You save $7.40!

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781250181077
ISBN-10 1250181070
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Henry Holt & Company Inc
Imprint Henry Holt & Company Inc
Publication Date 4 June 2019
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Halbrook, K. D.
Illustrated by Gort, Ilse
Series Silver Batal (part: 1)
Category Fantasy & Magical Realism
NZ, Maori & Pasifika
New Zealand & Related
Number of Pages 336
Dimensions Width: 138mm
Height: 216mm
Spine: 28mm
Weight 406g
Interest Age 9-12 years
Reading Age 9-12 years
Library of Congress Fantasy fiction, Adventure and adventurers, Adventure stories, Family life, Fantasy
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code 813.6
Catalogue Code 985854

Description of this Book

Silver's dreams of becoming a legendary water dragon racer come true when she befriends a rare dragon that can swim and fly. Twelve-year-old Silver Batal calls the desert home, but her heart belongs to the waters. Although she's expected to become a jeweler like her father, Silver harbors a secret and forbidden wish to race water dragons. Destiny comes calling when her friendship with a mysterious old woman leads her to Hiyyan, a baby dragon that can swim and fly. Risking everything, Silver, Hiyyan, and her resourceful cousin Brajon set off across the desert to join the legendary races in the royal city. But the road to Calidia is filled with danger, and the trio must band together as they encounter ferocious cave beasts, clever desert foxes, and cutthroat competition. Set in a vivid, Arab-inspired world filled with friendly and fearsome water dragons, K.D. Halbrook's middle-grade fantasy adventure is perfect for fans of Tui T. Sutherland, Sayantani DasGupta, and Roshani Chokshi.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review An imaginitive delight. --Sayantani DasGupta, author of The Serpent's Secret Silver and her dragon Hiyyan will race into your heart. This is a world you'll never want to leave. --Kamilla Benko, author of the Unicorn Quest series. Nonstop adventure and a brilliantly realized world -- I never wanted to leave Silver's side! An epic, unforgettable story -- I'm already dying for the next installment! --Amie Kaufman, New York Times-bestselling author of Elementals: Ice Wolves

^ top

Author's Bio

K. D. Halbrook grew up in California, surrounded by the gorgeous art, food, family bonds, and Lebanese American family quirks that inspired the world of Silver Batal. She's also the author of the middle-grade novel Smoke and Mirrors, as well as several young adult titles under the name Kristin Halbrook. Halbrook is a co-founder of the teen reading and writing website YA Highway.com. She currently resides in Seattle with her family. Visit her at www.kristinhalbrook.com.

^ top