Wheelers Books
A Songbird in Wartime

A Songbird in Wartime (Hardback)

By Dickson, Karen

  • RRP: $45.00
  • $36.90
  • Save $8.10
  • To Order

A brand new wartime family saga, perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Val Wood Shaftesbury, 1932. Emily Rose Baker is gifted with a beautiful singing voice. When she is orphaned at the age of sixteen, she finds employment in a local hotel, where gardener Tom Harding is entranced... by her voice and convinces the manager to let her perform in the lounge. Emily and Tom soon realise that they are falling for one another. But when theatre agent Roland Thurston hears Emily sing, he is determined to take her away to Bristol to perform in the theatres and clubs there, and manages to manipulate Tom into leaving town. Devastated and broken-hearted, Emily leaves with Roland to make a name for herself as 'The Bristol Songbird'. When war is declared and the Blitz hits Bristol, Emily's love for Tom is still as strong as ever. But she's not heard from him since he left all those years ago, and with Emily touring France with ENSA to entertain the troops, it seems like the two are destined never to be reunited. Will Emily and Tom ever find their way back to one another? Praise for Karen Dickson: 'A compelling saga that will hold you fast from the first page to the last. Loved it' VAL WOOD, author of The Lonely Wife 'This rollercoaster of a novel draws you in from the first page... I devoured this in one sitting and look forward to more from this author. In short a gem of a read' FIONA FORD, author of Wartime at Liberty's 'A delight to read... Lily Hayter is a wonderful heroine whose resilience and integrity shine through as she struggles to claim a life of her choosing and find a family. At the heart of the story is a warmth and humanity that makes it a truly uplifting read. I thoroughly enjoyed it and was sorry when I reached the end because I wanted to linger in Dickson's world. I eagerly await more from Karen Dickson' VICKI BEEBY, author of The Ops Room Girls 'An exciting, fresh and talented new voice - a five-star read!' CAROL RIVERS, author of Molly's Christmas Orphans 'The characters in this novel are so believable that I cared deeply about them from the first chapter. A heartfelt, hopeful account of one young woman's fight to keep her child safe when all the odds are against her. Atmospheric and beautifully written' JAN CASEY, author of The Women of Waterloo Bridge
Read more

ISBN 9781398503649
Released NZ 1 Feb 2022
Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781398503649
Stock Available
Status Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
Imprint Simon & Schuster Ltd
Released 1 Feb 2022
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback
 › 1 other possible formats available
Author(s) By Dickson, Karen
Category Modern Fiction
Romantic Fiction
Romantic Fiction: Historical
Sagas
Number of Pages 448
Dimensions Width: 153mm
Height: 234mm
Spine: 31mm
Dewey Code 823.92
Weight Not specified - defaults to 1,000g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress World War, 1939-1945 - Fiction - England - Bristol
NBS Text Romance & Sagas
ONIX Text General/trade

TOP