Wheelers Books

A Curse So Dark and Lonely

A Curse So Dark and Lonely

In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. Fall in love, break the curse. It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a power... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781408884614
Barcode 9781408884614
Published 4 February 2019 by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Kemmerer, Brigid
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $18.99 Retail price
  • $14.81 Wheelers price
  • You save $4.18!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781408884614
ISBN-10 1408884615
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Imprint Bloomsbury YA
Publication Date 4 February 2019
International Publication Date 29 January 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Kemmerer, Brigid
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Fantasy & Magical Realism
Number of Pages 496
Dimensions Width: 129mm
Height: 198mm
Weight 348g
Interest Age 13+ years
Reading Age 13+ years
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult
Dewey Code 813.6
Catalogue Code 956877

Description of this Book

In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. Fall in love, break the curse. It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope. Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she's instead somehow sucked into Rhen's cursed world. Break the curse, save the kingdom. A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn't know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what's at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Slow burning, big hearted, magical fun! I loved every minute. -- New York Times bestselling author Wendy Higgins Readers looking for a different sort of coming-of-age story or teen protagonists grappling with complex situations will fall in love with this romance-tinged novel. -- starred review * Booklist on MORE THAN WE CAN TELL * A must-have for any YA collection. Give to teens who enjoyed A Boy Called It by Dave Pelzer or The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. -- starred review * School Library Journal on MORE THAN WE CAN TELL * This book is going to fly off the shelves to all teens, but it will hold special interest for those looking for a tear-jerking romance and serious readers of realistic fiction. * VOYA on LETTERS TO THE LOST * A great concept, delivered in a compulsively readable package . . . romance readers will stay up late to finish this very satisfying and heartfelt read. * Booklist on LETTERS TO THE LOST * Explores the ideas of carving identity out of pain and the way perception colors expectations. * BCCB on LETTERS TO THE LOST * Readers will find themselves rooting for the real Declan to win Juliet's heart the same way his online persona did. Consider this tale of modern star-crossed love as a first purchase for YA collections. * School Library Journal on LETTERS TO THE LOST *
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Brigid Kemmerer is the author of More Than We Can Tell, Letters to the Lost and the Elementals series. She was born in Omaha, Nebraska, though her parents quickly moved her all over the United States, from the desert in Albuquerque, New Mexico, to the lakeside in Cleveland, Ohio. She now lives with her family in, Maryland. brigidkemmerer.com @BrigidKemmerer

^ top