Wheelers Books
The Whispers of War

The Whispers of War (Hardback, Digital original)

By Kelly, Julia

  • RRP: $60.00
  • $46.80
  • Save $13.20
  • To Order

August, 1939, Britain watches the headlines in fear of another devastating war with Germany and three childhood friends must choose between friendship or country. Socialite Nora is determined to find her place in the Home Office's Air Raid Precautions Department, while matchmaker..., Hazel, tries to mask two closely guarded secrets with irrepressible optimism, and German ex-pat Marie worries that she and her family might face imprisonment in an internment camp if war is declared. When Germany invades Poland and tensions on the home front rise, Marie is labelled an enemy alien, and the three friends find themselves fighting together to keep her free at any cost. The Whispers of War is a moving and unforgettable tale of the power and strength of friendship in a time of conflict. Perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, A Woman of War and The Secret Orphan. Praise for Julia Kelly: 'a heartbreaking romance that will grip you from the very beginning.' Washington Post 'Kelly deftly balances intrigue with mystery and historical detail in her latest novel... A charming imagining of the historical gunner girls.' Kirkus Review 'Kelly weaves an intricate, tender, and convincing tale of war and romance with skill and suspense.' Publishers Weekly
Read more

ISBN 9781409189466
Released NZ 16 Jan 2020
Publisher Orion Publishing
Format Hardback, Digital original
Alternate Format(s) View All (7 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781409189466
Stock Available
Status Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
Publisher Orion Publishing
Imprint Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Lt
Released 16 Jan 2020
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback, Digital original
Edition Digital original
Author(s) By Kelly, Julia
Category Romantic Fiction: Historical
Sagas
Number of Pages 336
Dimensions Width: 160mm
Height: 238mm
Spine: 34mm
Dewey Code 813.6
Weight 546g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress World War, 1939-1945 - Fiction - Great Britain
NBS Text Romance & Sagas
ONIX Text General/trade

TOP