Wheelers Books

The Angel Esmeralda: Nine Stories

The Angel Esmeralda: Nine Stories

The first ever collection of stories from 'a giant of the contemporary American literary landscape' Observer

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781447207573
Barcode 9781447207573
Published 1 December 2011 by Pan Macmillan
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By DeLillo, Don
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $39.99 Retail price
  • $31.99 Wheelers price
  • You save $8.00!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781447207573
ISBN-10 1447207572
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Pan Macmillan
Imprint Picador
Publication Date 1 December 2011
International Publication Date 4 November 2011
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback
Author(s) By DeLillo, Don
Category Modern Fiction
Short Stories
Number of Pages 224
Dimensions Width: 146mm
Height: 222mm
Spine: 23mm
Weight 350g
Interest Age 16+ years
Reading Age 16+ years
NBS Text Short Stories & Fiction Anthologies
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 813.54
Catalogue Code 230794

Description of this Book

The stories in The Angel Esmeralda, collected from all five decades of DeLillo's career, show an acknowledged master of the novel in complete command of the short form. Here, DeLillo finds the freedom to represent the wide range of human experience in contemporary America; and to challenge it, forcing us to comprehend the uncomfortable shadows lurking beyond our immediate perceptions. By exposing his characters to their own deep and sometimes unconscious longings, or to unexpected acts of terror and violation, DeLillo sparks moments of shocking narrative poignancy. His strong vision of our future and certain comprehension of our past coalesce to form a timeless present that is eerily perceptive and prophetic. No matter whether he is focused upon the slums of New York or astronauts in orbit around the Earth, by electing not to turn away from the unsettling manner in which humans are often brought together, or the disquieting truth behind their emotional interactions, he creates powerful stories of lust and obsession, of loss and remorse, of grief and ecstasy. For those unfamiliar with DeLillo's work, these intense and articulate stories offer a wonderful introduction to one of America's greatest living writers; for those already acquainted, they are a thrilling and significant addition.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Don DeLillo, the author of fifteen novels, including Point Omega, Falling Man, White Noise and Libra, has won many honours in America and abroad, including the National Book Award, the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, the Jerusalem Prize for his complete body of work and the William Dean Howells Medal from the American Academy of Arts and Letters for his novel Underworld. In 2010, he received the PEN/Saul Bellow Award. He has also written three plays.

^ top