Wheelers Books

The Acts of My Mother

The Acts of My Mother
 

A son investigates his mother's past in this moving novel of family, lies, betrayal and forgiveness.

Unfortunately, publisher restrictions limit this title's availability to school and public library account customers only.
School & Public Library Accounts please log in.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781471160615
Barcode 9781471160615
Published 1 May 2019 by Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Forgach, Andras
Availability Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

  • $32.50 Retail price
  • $26.00 Wheelers price
  • You save $6.50!

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781471160615
ISBN-10 1471160610
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
Imprint Scribner UK
Publication Date 1 May 2019
International Publication Date 18 April 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Forgach, Andras
Category Modern Fiction
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 130mm
Height: 198mm
Spine: 23mm
Weight 5,443g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 894.51134
Catalogue Code 977679

Description of this Book

For readers of The Lives of Others and The Reader, and based on a true story, No Live Files Remain is a beautiful and moving novel of family, lies, betrayal and forgiveness. He wanted to understand the past. Now he must live with the truth. Thirty years after the fall of communism in Hungary, as Andras Forgach investigated his family's past he uncovered a horrifying truth. His mother, whom he deeply loved, had been an informant for the Kadar regime. She had informed not only on acquaintances but on family, friends and even her children. In No Live Files Remain, Forgach gives voice to his deceased mother, holding her responsible for her deeds while defending the memories he cherished of her as a son. 'Mother wasn't lacking in evocativeness, no, no, I can affirm that. She was the firmament, the high sky, and she still is, even covered in heavy clouds.' Andras Forgach

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Andras Forgach is a writer, translator, dramatist and visual artist. He was born in Hungary.

^ top