Wheelers Books
The Words That Fly Between Us

The Words That Fly Between Us (Paperback)

By Carroll, Sarah

  • RRP: $20.99
  • $16.37
  • Save $4.62
  • In stock

Perfect for fans of David Almond and Katherine Rundell

ISBN 9781471160646
Barcode 9781471160646
Published 1 June 2019 by Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781471160646
ISBN-10 1471160645
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
Imprint Simon & Schuster Childrens Books
Publication Date 1 June 2019
International Publication Date 2 May 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Carroll, Sarah
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Self-Awareness & Self-Esteem
Children's and Educational
Number of Pages 272
Dimensions Width: 130mm
Height: 198mm
Spine: 17mm
Weight Not specified - defaults to 600g
Interest Age 9-11 years
Reading Age 9-11 years
NBS Text Children's General Non-Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 910977

Description of this Book

A beautiful, powerful story about finding the strength to face your fears, from the author of The Girl in Between Lucy's father is a successful lawyer making a killing on the property market. Lucy and her mother want for nothing. Nothing, that is, that can be bought. But money cannot buy Lucy the words she needs. The words to stand up to her bully of a father. The words to inspire her mother to do something about the family life that is suffocating them both. The words to become the person she wants to be. Then she finds something else: An escape route. Lucy discovers that every building on her row is connected, through the attic, to the next. As she explores the inner workings of those who live on her street, Lucy realises that she is not the only one to suffer in silence. She also sees ways she can help some, and ways to punish those that deserve it. But as the mighty fall, Lucy is forced to realise that while she can affect the lives of others from the safety of the attic, she will need to climb down to face her own fears. Praise for The Girl in Between: 'Perfect for fans of David Almond and Katherine Rundell' - The Guardian 'A compelling and heart-breaking debut with an unexpecting twist, reminiscent of A Monster Calls' - Glamour magazine 'Pitch-perfect Dublin voice' - Irish Times 'The Girl in Between' grabbed me from the start and held on so tight it left bruises' - Geraldine McCaughrean 'In turns beautiful, devastating and ultimately uplifting, The Girl in Between demands re-reading' - Zana Fraillon, author of The Bone Sparrow `Dark, sometimes profound, this is the kind of book that envelops readers in its world, sending them blinking into the light with the voice and images still ringing in their heads' LoveReading4Kids.co.uk `A descriptive story that's intriguing, emotionally engaging ... with a twist at the end.' The Book Bag

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 3 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Sarah currently splits her time between a houseboat in Dublin and travel abroad. She recently returned from five years in Tanzania where she founded and ran a hostel while working to support local community projects. She continues to promote ethical overseas volunteering through her blogs and films on www.theethicalvolunteer.com, while planning her next book.

^ top