Wheelers Books
The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate

The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Export / Airside)

By Campbell, Nancy

  • RRP: $37.99
  • $29.63
  • Save $8.36
  • Delayed Release

A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing. Long captivated by the solid yet impermanent nature of ice, by its sta...rk, rugged beauty, acclaimed poet and writer Nancy Campbell sets out from the world's northernmost museum - at Upernavik in Greenland - to explore it in all its facets. From the Bodleian Library archives to the traces left by the great polar expeditions, from remote Arctic settlements to the ice houses of Calcutta, she examines the impact of ice on our lives at a time when it is itself under threat from climate change.The Library of Ice is a fascinating and beautifully rendered evocation of the interplay of people and their environment on a fragile planet, and of a writer's quest to define the value of her work in a disappearing landscape.
Read more

ISBN 9781471169328
Released NZ 1 Dec 2018
Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, Export/Airside
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Pre-order title, release date has been delayed

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781471169328
Stock Available
Status Pre-order title, release date has been delayed
Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
Imprint Scribner UK
Released 1 Dec 2018
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, Export/Airside
Edition Export/Airside
Author(s) By Campbell, Nancy
Category Biography & Autobiography
True Stories: Discovery / Historical / Scientific
Regional Geography
The Environment
Number of Pages 336
Dimensions Width: 153mm
Height: 234mm
Spine: 24mm
Dewey Code 919.8204
Weight Not specified - defaults to 600g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Inuit - Social life and customs, Greenland - Description and travel, Arctic regions - Description and travel
NBS Text Autobiography: General
ONIX Text General/trade

TOP