Wheelers Books

Dumplin' Lib/E

Dumplin' Lib/E
 

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a ... read full description below.

Sorry, this title is not currently available from any of our suppliers.

This title is firm sale. Please select carefully as returns are not accepted.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781504645218
Barcode 9781504645218
Published 15 September 2015 by HarperCollins
Format Audio CD/Audio
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Murphy, Julie
Read by Stevens, Eileen
Series Dumplin' Series, 1
Availability Not currently available

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781504645218
ISBN-10 1504645219
Stock Out of stock
Status Not currently available
Publisher HarperCollins
Imprint HarperCollins
Publication Date 15 September 2015
Publication Country United States United States
Format Audio CD/Audio
Author(s) By Murphy, Julie
Read by Stevens, Eileen
Series Dumplin' Series, 1
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Audio / Visual (Audio books, Music, DVDs, CDROMs)
Personal Family, Relationship & Social Issues
Self-Awareness & Self-Esteem
Number of Pages Not specified
Dimensions Width: 170mm
Height: 157mm
Spine: 30mm
Weight 363g
Interest Age Children
Reading Age Children
Library of Congress Friendship, Texas, Dating (Social customs), Beauty contests, Overweight persons
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine Dumplin is guaranteed to steal your heart.Dubbed Dumplin by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked until Will takes a job at Harpy s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back. Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant along with several other unlikely candidates to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way, she ll shock the hell out of Clover City and maybe herself most of all.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review A treat. Willowdean is a truly wonderful protagonist. She's real, she's witty and you'll want to hug her as she navigates the difficult task of growing up a plus-sized girl in a beauty queen-obsessed town. Murphy nails small-town life, longing, grief, and finding one's way-no matter your age. -- RT Book Reviews (4 1/2 stars, Top Pick!) Dumplin' should be required reading for anyone who has ever felt even slightly uncomfortable in his or her skin. -- John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of Noggin Narrator Eileen Stevens provides an appealing look into the workings of Will's mind...Her attitude is upbeat and positive, but she's not saccharine sweet. Stevens gives her appropriate teenaged snarkiness, and each deep sigh speaks volumes..Listeners won't want to miss meeting this funny, original heroine. -- AudioFile Richly enjoyable...a clever and funny book to please lovers of thoughtful romance and secret pageant fans. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Portrays and challenges sterotypes about beauty pageants, size issues, and women's concerns...Powerful. -- VOYA The text refreshingly asserts that thinness is no requirement for doing and deserving good things...Bits of humor and a jubilant pageant takeover by beauty rebels...crown this unusual book. -- Kirkus Reviews Genuine, romantic, and with a dash of Texan charm, this is a novel that celebrates being who you are while also acknowledging that it's incredibly difficult to do. -- Horn Book Will's singular voice compels readers to think about all that goes into building-and destroying-self-esteem. -- Booklist (starred review) Eileen Stevens' multifaceted voice gives Willowdean prodigious range-sweet and snarky, fearless and funny, determined and doleful, too. With Will firmly center stage, Stevens smoothly transitions from beauty queen to drag queen, mean girl to wannabe, bully to buddy. -- School Library Journal (starred audio review) Murphy successfully makes every piece of the story...count, weaving them together to create a harmonious, humorous, and thought-provoking whole. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) Wickedly funny, heartbreakingly real, full of characters to love and cheer for. Dumplin' is such a star. -- Katie Cotugno, New York Times bestselling author

^ top

Author's Bio

Julie Murphy lives in North Texas with her husband who loves her, her dog who adores her, and her cats who tolerate her. When she's not writing or trying to catch stray animals, Julie can be found in a library smelling old books and manning the reference desk. Her acclaimed first novel is Side Effects May Vary. Eileen Stevens is a voice-over actress living and working in New York City whose voice can be heard on cartoons, promos, programs for English-language learners, and audiobooks. She has voiced Iris on Pokemon. An Earphones Award-winning narrator, she has also directed and produced audiobooks for over six years.

^ top