Wheelers Books

This title is firm sale. Please select carefully as returns are not accepted.

Scrublands
  

Scrublands (Audio CD / Audio)

Read by Degas, Rupert
By Hammer, Chris

  • RRP: $105.99
  • $105.99
  • In Stock US

In the vein of The Dry and Before the Fall, a town's dark secrets come to light in the aftermath of a young priest's unthinkable last act in this arresting and searing debut thriller. In Riversend, an isolated rural community afflicted by an endless drought, a young priest does t... read full description below.

ISBN 9781508277446
Barcode 9781508277446
Published 8 January 2019 by Simon & Schuster Audio
Format Audio CD/Audio
Alternate Format(s) View All (10 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781508277446
ISBN-10 1508277443
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Simon & Schuster Audio
Imprint Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date 8 January 2019
Publication Country
Format Audio CD/Audio
Author(s) Read by Degas, Rupert
By Hammer, Chris
Category Audio / Visual (Audio books, Music, DVDs, CDROMs)
Adventure / Thriller
Crime & Mystery Fiction
Number of Pages Not specified
Dimensions Width: 142mm
Height: 147mm
Spine: 28mm
Weight 249g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text Crime, Thriller & Adventure
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code Not specified
Catalogue Code 969005

Description of this Book

In the vein of The Dry and Before the Fall, a town's dark secrets come to light in the aftermath of a young priest's unthinkable last act in this arresting and searing debut thriller. In Riversend, an isolated rural community afflicted by an endless drought, a young priest does the unthinkable, killing five parishioners before being taken down himself. A year later, accompanied by his own demons from war-time reporting, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend. His assignment is simple: describe how the townspeople are coping as the anniversary of their tragedy approaches. But as Martin meets the locals and hears their version of events, he begins to realize that the accepted wisdom-that the priest was a pedophile whose imminent exposure was the catalyst for the shooting, a theory established through an award-winning investigation by Martin's own newspaper-may be wrong. Just as Martin believes he's making headway, a new development rocks the town. The bodies of two German backpackers-missing since the time of the church shootings-are discovered in a dam in the scrublands, deserted backwoods marked by forest fires. As the media flocks to the scene, Martin finds himself thrown into a whole new mystery. What was the real reason behind the priest's shooting spree? And how does it connect to the backpacker murders, if at all? Martin struggles to uncover the town's dark secrets, putting his job, his mental state, and his life at risk as more and more strange happenings escalate around him. For fans of James Lee Burke, Jane Harper, and Robert Crais, Scrublands is a compelling and original crime novel that marks Chris Hammer as a stunning new voice in the genre. A compulsively readable thriller of the highest order, Scrublands never loosens its grip, from its opening scene to the very last page.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Rupert Degas, winner of numerous AudioFile Earphones Awards, has recorded the works of Peter Carey, Haruki Murakami, Andy McNab, Darren Shan, and Derek Landy, among others. He has also recorded over fifty radio productions including The Gemini Apes, The Glittering Prizes, This Sceptered Isle, The Ragged Trousered Philanthropists and The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. He has appeared on film and television in Dead Romantic, EastEnders, Waiting for God, Passport to Murder, Over Here, Fatherland, The Cappuccino Years, Exorcist: The Beginning, Love Soup and Shoot the Messenger. He has also lent his voice to numerous animated films and series including Mr. Bean, Bob the Builder, Robotboy, and The Amazing World of Gumball. Along with several stints in Newsrevue at the Canal Cafe Theatre and in Edinburgh, he has appeared on the London stage in The Boys Next Door, Are We There Yet?, Becket, Stones in His Pockets, and Patrick Barlow's adaptation of The 39 Steps. He lives in Sydney, Australia. Christopher Hammer lives in Australia and has been a journalist for over twenty-five years. He has been an international correspondent, the chief political correspondent for The Bulletin, and a senior political journalist for The Age.

^ top