Wheelers Books

I am a Tiger

I am a Tiger
 

Delightfully funny and original story about a small and cheeky mouse with very big ideas and no shortage of confidence

Unfortunately, publisher restrictions limit this title's availability to school and public library account customers only.
School & Public Library Accounts please log in.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781509855155
Barcode 9781509855155
Published 14 May 2019 by Pan Macmillan
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Newson, Karl
Illustrated by Collins, Ross
Availability Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

  • $22.99 Retail price
  • $20.69 Wheelers price
  • You save $2.30!

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781509855155
ISBN-10 1509855157
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Pan Macmillan
Imprint Macmillan Children's Books
Publication Date 14 May 2019
International Publication Date 16 May 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Newson, Karl
Illustrated by Collins, Ross
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Animal Stories
Picture Storybooks
Self-Awareness & Self-Esteem
Number of Pages 32
Dimensions Width: 260mm
Height: 260mm
Spine: 4mm
Weight 195g
Interest Age 5-8 years
Reading Age 5-8 years
NBS Text Picture Books
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code 978045

Description of this Book

Hilarious and original story about a mouse with big ideas - she believes she is a tiger! She manages to convince a raccoon, a fox, a snake and a bird that she is a tiger, and that they are not what they think they are! But when a real tiger turns up, can the persuasive little rodent manage to persuade the tiger that he is a mouse! With vibrant artwork by award-winning illustrator Ross Collins, and delightful characters created by rising star Karl Newson, this is a story that will amuse and entertain everyone, from young children to adults, from the smallest mouse to the biggest tiger.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review I AM A TIGER [STARRED REVIEW!] Author: Karl Newson Illustrator: Ross Collins Review Issue Date: June 1, 2019 Online Publish Date: May 8, 2019 Publisher:Scholastic Pages: 32 Price ( Hardcover ): $17.99 Publication Date: July 30, 2019 ISBN ( Hardcover ): 978-1-338-34989-4 Category: Fiction This mouse has moxie.The titular tiger of Newson and Collins' imaginative tale may have been born a mouse, but it's a mouse made up of equal parts imagination and chutzpah. As the story begins, the unnamed, ungendered mouse proclaims proudly: I am a tiger. As a series of woodland animals begin to argue with the mouse, its claims of tigerhood grow more and more outlandish (and more humorous). When the expected tiger makes its appearance, the mouse doesn't bat an eye as it declares, You're not a tiger. You're a mouse! And so begins the second half of the book as the mouse uses its zany logic to define the other animals in the story. The conclusion is open-ended, and readers hungry for more will extend the silliness on their own and hope for a sequel. Newson's fearless tone and Collins' humorous illustrations are a winning combination. The bold cartoons, set against bright, solid-colored backgrounds, are vibrant enough to be seen from the back of the classroom or storyhour room, and the expressions of each animal will definitely inspire rounds of giggles. Fans of David LaRochelle and Mike Wohnoutka's Moo! (2013) and Kevin Sherry's I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean (2007) will add this title to their list of favorites. This is one terrific book. (Picture book. 5-8) * Kirkus *
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 3 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Ross Collins was born in Glasgow, Scotlandand studied illustration at the Glasgow School of Art, graduating in 1994 and in the same year he won the Macmillan Children's Book Prize for the The Sea Hole. His picture book The Elephantom was shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal and has now been staged at London's Royal National Theatre. This Zoo is Not for You won the inaugural Amnesty CILIP Honour. Karl Newson is an up and coming children's book writer and illustrator, living in London. He is the author of Here Comes the Sun, Fum, Little Grey's Birthday Surprise and A Bear is a Bear. I am a Tiger is his first picture book with Macmillan.

^ top