Wheelers Books

Watch Us Rise

Watch Us Rise

A stirring and unputdownable read about what it means to be a woman today. Perfect for fans of Moxie and The Hate U Give. Jasmine and Chelsea are best friends on a mission. Sick of the way that young women are treated even at their 'progressive' New York City high school, they de... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781526600868
Barcode 9781526600868
Published 4 March 2019 by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Watson, Renee
By Hagan, Ellen
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $17.99 Retail price
  • $14.03 Wheelers price
  • You save $3.96!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781526600868
ISBN-10 1526600862
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Imprint Bloomsbury YA
Publication Date 4 March 2019
International Publication Date 21 February 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Watson, Renee
By Hagan, Ellen
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Personal Awareness & Social Issues
Teenage Romance
School Stories
English Literature: Poetry Texts & Anthologies
Number of Pages 368
Dimensions Width: 129mm
Height: 198mm
Weight Not specified - defaults to 600g
Interest Age 13+ years
Reading Age 13+ years
Library of Congress New York NY - Fiction
NBS Text Young Adult General Interest & Leisure
ONIX Text Young adult
Dewey Code 813.6
Catalogue Code 968573

Description of this Book

A stirring and unputdownable read about what it means to be a woman today. Perfect for fans of Moxie and The Hate U Give. Jasmine and Chelsea are best friends on a mission. Sick of the way that young women are treated even at their 'progressive' New York City high school, they decide to start a Women's Rights Club. One problem - no one shows up. That hardly stops them. They start posting everything from videos of Chelsea performing her poetry to Jasmine's response to being reduced to a racist and sexist stereotype in the school's theatre department. And soon, they've gone viral, creating a platform they never could've predicted. With such positive support, the Women's Rights Club is also targeted by trolls. But Jasmine and Chelsea won't let their voices - or those of the other young women in their city - be silenced. They'll risk everything to be heard and effect change ... but at what cost?

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Praise for PIECING ME TOGETHER: An important and deeply moving novel. Highly recommended * John Green * Praise for PIECING ME TOGETHER: Timely and timeless, Piecing Me Together is a book about the ways young people deal with the hardships and heartbreak of everyday living while remaining whole and true to themselves * Jacqueline Woodson, National Book Award winning author of BROWN GIRL DREAMING * Praise for PIECING ME TOGETHER: Watson, with rhythm and style, somehow gets at the toxicity of sympathy, the unquenchable thirst of fear, and the life-changing power of voice and opportunity, all wrapped up in Jade * Jason Reynolds, New York Times bestselling and award-winning coauthor of ALL AMERICAN BOYS * Praise for PIECING ME TOGETHER: A timely, nuanced and unforgettable story about the power of art, community and friendship * starred review, Kirkus Reviews *
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Renee Watson is the bestselling Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award winning author of the novel Piecing Me Together as well as many others. Renee is the founder of I, Too, Arts Collective, a nonprofit committed to nurturing under-represented voices in the creative arts. She lives in New York City. reneewatson.net @harlemportland (Instagram) Ellen Hagan is a writer, performer and educator. Her latest collection of poetry, Hemisphere, was published by Northwestern University Press, Spring 2015. This is her first novel. She lives with her husband and daughters in New York City. ellenhagan.com @ellenhagan (Twitter)

^ top