Wheelers Books
A Quiet Kind of Thunder

A Quiet Kind of Thunder (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Reprint ed.)

By Barnard, Sara

Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jandy Nelson. A girl who can't speak and a boy who can't hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally resonant novel for readers who enjoyed John Green's Turtles All the Way Down (Bookl...ist) from bestselling author Sara Barnard. Steffi doesn't talk, but she has so much to say. Rhys can't hear, but he can listen. Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life. The condition's name has always felt ironic to her, because she certainly does not select not to speak. In fact, she would give anything to be able to speak as easily and often as everyone around her can. She suffers from crippling anxiety, and uncontrollably, in most situations simply can't open her mouth to get out the words. Steffi's been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He's deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she's assigned to help him acclimate. To Rhys, it doesn't matter that Steffi doesn't talk. As they find ways to communicate, Steffi discovers that she does have a voice, and that she's falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it. But as she starts to overcome a lifelong challenge, she'll soon confront questions about the nature of her own identity and the very essence of what it is to know another person.
Read more

ISBN 9781534402423
Released NZ 29 Jan 2019
Publisher Simon Pulse
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, Reprint ed.
Alternate Format(s) View All (4 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Not currently available

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781534402423
Stock Out of stock
Status Not currently available
Publisher Simon Pulse
Imprint Simon Pulse
Released 29 Jan 2019
Publication Country
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, Reprint ed.
Edition Reprint ed.
Author(s) By Barnard, Sara
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Teenage Romance
Disability & Illness
Number of Pages 416
Dimensions Width: 142mm
Height: 208mm
Spine: 30mm
Dewey Code FIC
Weight 340g
Interest Age 14+ years
Reading Age 14+ years
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult

TOP