Wheelers Books

The Remarkable Inventions of Walter Mortinson

The Remarkable Inventions of Walter Mortinson

Against the wishes of his mortician mother, Hadorah, twelve-year-old Walter and classmate Cordelia take a hearse on a road trip to meet legendary inventor Flasterborn, who once mentored Walter's long-dead father.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781534420809
Barcode 9781534420809
Published 1 May 2019 by Simon & Schuster
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Sosna-Spear, Quinn
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $28.99 Retail price
  • $22.61 Wheelers price
  • You save $6.38!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781534420809
ISBN-10 1534420800
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Simon & Schuster
Imprint Simon & Schuster
Publication Date 1 May 2019
International Publication Date 2 April 2019
Publication Country United States United States
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Sosna-Spear, Quinn
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Number of Pages 336
Dimensions Width: 140mm
Height: 210mm
Spine: 25mm
Weight 410g
Interest Age 8-12 years
Reading Age 8-12 years
Library of Congress Death, Mothers and sons, Humorous stories, Single-parent families, Humorous fiction
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code 975814

Description of this Book

In this sweeping and inventive debut novel that's perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Neil Gaiman, and Tim Burton, a prodigal inventor flees his home to find his destiny. In the humdrum town of Moormouth, Walter Mortinson's unusual inventions cause nothing but trouble. After one of his contraptions throws the town into chaos, Walter's mother demands he cut the nonsense and join the family mortuary business. Far off on Flaster Isle, famed inventor Horace Flasterborn plans to take Walter under his wing, just as he did Walter's genius father decades ago. When a letter arrives by unusual means offering Walter an apprenticeship, it isn't long before Walter decides to flee Moormouth to meet his destiny. Walter runs away in the family hearse along with Cordelia, the moody girl next door with one eye and plenty of secrets. Together they journey through a strange landscape of fish-people, giantess miners, and hypnotized honeybees in an adventure that will not only reveal the truth about Walter's past, but direct his future.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Sosna-Spear's debut novel contains elements of Oz and Harry Potter with a healthy dollop of Willie Wonka thrown into the mix....An earnest novel that celebrates courage and individuality. * Kirkus Reviews *

^ top

Author's Bio

Quinn Sosna-Spear was named a California Young Playwright at seventeen and went on to study at the University of Southern California. She has since written books, films, and comics. Her novels are inspired by her childhood and the untimely death of her own mother. Quinn hopes to share with all readers-particularly those struggling with loss-the humor, poignancy, and adventure in such things...as dreary and impossible as they may seem.

^ top