Wheelers Books

Emergency Contact

Emergency Contact

Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book. -Rainbow Rowell From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory-perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park ... read full description below.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – This title is in stock at publisher

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781534425934
Barcode 9781534425934
Published 1 January 2019 by Simon & Schuster
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, Export
Alternate Format(s) View All (4 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Choi, Mary H. K.
Availability In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $20.99 Retail price
  • $16.37 Wheelers price
  • You save $4.62!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781534425934
ISBN-10 1534425934
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Simon & Schuster
Imprint Simon & Schuster
Publication Date 1 January 2019
International Publication Date 9 August 2018
Publication Country United States United States
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, Export
Edition Export
Author(s) By Choi, Mary H. K.
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Teenage Romance
Personal Family, Relationship & Social Issues
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 140mm
Height: 210mm
Spine: 25mm
Weight 113g
Interest Age 13+ years
Reading Age 13+ years
NBS Text Young Adult Fiction
ONIX Text Young adult
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code 939474

Description of this Book

Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book. -Rainbow Rowell From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory-perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before. For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn't actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it's seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind. Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a cafe and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him. When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch-via text-and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review * Choi sensitively shows the evolution of two lonely, complicated people who slowly emerge from their shells to risk an intimate relationship. Her sharp wit and skillful character development...ensure that readers will feel that they know Penny and Sam inside and out before the gratifying conclusion. --Publisher's Weekly - starred review January 1, 2018 Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book. --Rainbow Rowell, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fangirl
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 2 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Mary H.K. Choi is a writer for The New York Times, GQ, Wired, and The Atlantic. She has written comics for Marvel and DC, as well as a collection of essays called Oh, Never Mind. Her debut novel Emergency Contact was a New York Times bestseller. She is the host of Hey, Cool Job!, a podcast about jobs and Hey, Cool Life!, a podcast about mental health and creativity. Mary grew up in Hong Kong and Texas and now lives in New York. Follow her on Twitter @ChoitotheWorld.

^ top