Wheelers Books
Scarlett Hart: Monster Hunter

Scarlett Hart: Monster Hunter (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

By Sedgwick, Marcus
Illustrated by Taylor, Thomas

  • RRP: $27.99
  • $25.19
  • Save $2.80
  • In Stock At Publisher

Monsters, quake in your boots! Scarlett Hart, the (unlicensed) monster hunter, is coming for you!

ISBN 9781626720268
Barcode 9781626720268
Published 8 May 2018 by Misc - Alliance Distribution
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781626720268
ISBN-10 1626720266
Stock Available
Status In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Misc - Alliance Distribution
Imprint First Second
Publication Date 8 May 2018
International Publication Date 3 April 2018
Publication Country United States United States
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Sedgwick, Marcus
Illustrated by Taylor, Thomas
Category Adventure Stories
Graphic / Comic Strip
Number of Pages 208
Dimensions Width: 153mm
Height: 217mm
Spine: 13mm
Weight 424g
Interest Age Children
Reading Age Children
Library of Congress Teenage girls, Graphic novels, Cartoons and comics, Monsters, Comics (Graphic works)
NBS Text Children's Comic Strip Fiction & Graphic Novels
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code FIC
Catalogue Code 908110

Description of this Book

Scarlett Hart, orphaned daughter of two legendary monster hunters, is determined to carry on in her parents' footsteps--even if the Royal Academy for the Pursuit and Eradication of Zoological Eccentricities says she's too young to fight perilous horrors. But whether it's creepy mummies or a horrid hound, Scarlett won't back down, and with the help of her loyal butler and a lot of monster-mashing gadgets, she's on the case.With her parent's archrival, Count Stankovic, ratting her out to T.R.A.P.E.Z.E. and taking all the monster-catching rewards for himself, it's getting hard for Scarlett to do what she was born to do. And when more monsters start mysteriously manifesting than ever before, Scarlett knows she has to get to the bottom of it and save the city . . . whatever the danger!In his first adventure for middle-grade readers, acclaimed YA author Marcus Sedgwick teams up with Thomas Taylor (illustrator of the original edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone) to create a rip-roaring romp full of hairy horrors, villainous villains, and introducing the world's toughest monster hunter--Scarlett Hart!

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review The weapons, gadgets, catchphrases, and nondescript Victorian setting will appeal to fans of the steampunk genre, [Scarlett Hart] will likely appeal to comic fans as a bridge between Scooby-Doo! and Paul Pope's Battling Boy. --School Library Journal A cliff-hanger ending, along with a handful of secrets about Scarlett's parents left unexplained, hopefully means there's a sequel yet to come. This solid middle-grade caper is perfect for fans of Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller's Nightmares! series. --Booklist
UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 1 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

Marcus Sedgwick was born and raised in Kent in South East England, but now lives in the French Alps. His books have won and been shortlisted for many awards; most notably, he has been shortlisted for Britain's Carnegie Medal six times, has received two Printz Honors, for Revolver and Ghosts of Heaven, and in 2013 won the Printz Award for Midwinterblood. Thomas Taylor is an award-winning British author and illustrator. He was the cover artist for the UK edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone. Following this he wrote and illustrated many picture books, as well as the Dan and the Dead series, and a YA novel, Haunters.

^ top