Wheelers Books

The Confession

The Confession
 

You find out who did it on the very first page. On the last page, you'll find out why in this expertly plotted, enthralling (J. P. Delaney) psychological suspense novel from an internationally bestselling author.

Usually ships 6-12 working days – Title is in stock with supplier internationally

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781683316206
Barcode 9781683316206
Published 11 September 2018 by Crooked Lane Books
Format Hardback
Alternate Format(s) View All (3 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Spain, Jo
Availability Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days

... view full title details below.

Buy Now

  • $57.50 Retail price
  • $46.00 Wheelers price
  • You save $11.50!
Add to Basket Add to Wishlist

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781683316206
ISBN-10 1683316207
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
Publisher Crooked Lane Books
Imprint Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date 11 September 2018
Publication Country
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Spain, Jo
Category Adventure / Thriller
Crime & Mystery Fiction
Number of Pages 288
Dimensions Width: 163mm
Height: 236mm
Spine: 38mm
Weight 590g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Psychological fiction, Murder - Investigation, Confession (Law), Violent deaths, Bankers - Crimes against
NBS Text Crime, Thriller & Adventure
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 823.92
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

You find out who did it on the very first page. On the last page, you'll find out why in this expertly plotted, enthralling (J. P. Delaney) psychological suspense novel from an internationally bestselling author. Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. And when the man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry, a horror-struck Julie, frozen by fear, watches her husband die. Just one hour later, the attacker, J. P. Carney hands himself into the police and confesses to beating Harry to death. Except he also claims that the assault was not premeditated and that he didn't know the identity of his victim. With a man as notorious as Harry McNamara, who was just found innocent in a highly sensationalized fraud trial, the detectives cannot help but wonder: Was this really a random act of violence? Was Julie really powerless to stop JP? When Harry's many sins are unveiled to include corruption, greed, and betrayal, nothing is for sure. This gripping psychological thriller will have you questioning, who--of Harry, Julie and JP--is really the guilty one? And is Carney's surrender driven by a guilty conscience or is his confession a calculated move in a deadly game? Brilliant and ice-pick sharp, The Confession is perfect for fans of B. A. Paris and Fiona Barton.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review Praise for The Confession Enthralling...Spain dissects her characters' secrets with razor-sharp precision. --J. P. Delaney, author of The Girl Before An absolute cracker of a book, compulsive, deviously plotted and intense--I will be recommending this to everyone. --Elizabeth Haynes, author of Into the Darkest Corner Jo Spain is such a talent. The Confession had me in its thrall from the first page, revealing the dark side of the Celtic Tiger. --Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill I loved this twisty slice of domestic noir. --Claire McGowan, author of Blood Tide A climax that is shocking and unexpected. --The Times (UK)

^ top

Author's Bio

Jo Spain is a full-time writer and screenwriter. Her first novel, With Our Blessing, was one of seven books shortlisted in the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller competition and her first psychological thriller. The Confession, was a number one bestseller in Ireland. Jo co-wrote the ground-breaking TV series Taken Down which first broadcast in Ireland in 2018. She's now working on multiple European TV projects. Joanne lives in Dublin with her husband and their four young children.

^ top