Wheelers Books

A Dog Named Beautiful: The true story of the Labrador who taught a Marine to love life again

A Dog Named Beautiful: The true story of the Labrador who taught a Marine to love life again

Sharing that special love that only exists between a dog and its human, Bella made Rob's life worth living again.

Unfortunately, publisher restrictions limit this title's availability to school and public library account customers only.
School & Public Library Accounts please log in.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781787630581
Barcode 9781787630581
Published 21 March 2019 by Transworld Publishers
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Kugler, Robert
Availability Indent title (sourced internationally), usually ships 4-6 weeks post release/order

... view full title details below.

  • $40.00 Retail price
  • $31.20 Wheelers price
  • You save $8.80!

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781787630581
ISBN-10 1787630587
Stock Available
Status Indent title (sourced internationally), usually ships 4-6 weeks post release/order
Publisher Transworld Publishers
Imprint Bantam Press
Publication Date 21 March 2019
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Kugler, Robert
Category Biography & Autobiography
Dogs As Pets
Travel Writing
Number of Pages 304
Dimensions Width: 153mm
Height: 234mm
Spine: 23mm
Weight 402g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Veterans - Mental health, Human-animal relationships
NBS Text Autobiography: General
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 636.70092
Catalogue Code 968689

Description of this Book

The heartwarming true story of the three-legged Labrador who helped her human to love life again. Rob Kugler adopted his chocolate Lab Bella as a puppy - a bundle of fun and love, who could keep his girlfriend company while he headed off to fulfil his duties as a Marine. When his life fell apart, it was Bella who was there to help heal wounds. Sharing that special love that only exists between a dog and its human, Bella made Rob's life worth living again. So when Rob was told that Bella had cancer - first in her leg, which had to be amputated, and then in her lungs - he was devastated. With only months of Bella's life left, he knew just what he had to do for his furry best friend. Determined to show her the same kind of unconditional love which she had always shown him, Rob decided to give Bella the farewell adventure of her doggie dreams. Travelling from coast to coast, criss-crossing the States, making new friends from every corner of the globe on their inspirational journey, along the way Bella taught Rob never to give up and always to live each day as though it's your last. This is the true story of an an unbreakable bond, an incredible journey, and a heartbreaking but ultimately uplifting long goodbye.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review For fans of Marley and Me. * Best * Kugler expertly balances his personal journey through past trauma and to finding inner peace with Bella at his side with inspirational insights all readers can appreciate... This sweet story honoring the bond between animals and their people is a must-read for fans of A Dog Called Hope and Travels With Charley, and anyone open to a good, cathartic cry. * Booklist * Kugler's heartfelt and uplifting story reveals the transformative power pets can have. * Publishers Weekly *

^ top

Author's Bio

Rob Kugler is a storyteller, photographer and writer. When he's not on the road, he lives in Nebraska and Hood River.

^ top