Wheelers Books

This title is firm sale. Please select carefully as returns are not accepted.

Punching the Air
 

Punching the Air (Audio CD / Audio, Library Edition)

By Zoboi, Ibi
By Salaam, Yusef
Read by Herrise, Ethan

From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo. The story t...hat I thought was my life didn't start on the day I was born Amal Shahid has always been an artist and a poet. But even in a diverse art school, he's seen as disruptive and unmotivated by a biased system. Then one fateful night, an altercation in a gentrifying neighborhood escalates into tragedy. Boys just being boys turns out to be true only when those boys are white. The story that I think will be my life starts today Suddenly, at just sixteen years old, Amal's bright future is upended: he is convicted of a crime he didn't commit and sent to prison. Despair and rage almost sink him until he turns to the refuge of his words, his art. This never should have been his story. But can he change it? With spellbinding lyricism, award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam tell a moving and deeply profound story about how one boy is able to maintain his humanity and fight for the truth, in a system designed to strip him of both.
Read more

ISBN 9781799940371
Released NZ 1 Sep 2020
Publisher HarperCollins
Format Audio CD/Audio, Library Edition
Alternate Format(s) View All (4 other possible title(s) available)
Availability
Not currently available

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781799940371
Stock Out of stock
Status Not currently available
Publisher HarperCollins
Imprint HarperCollins
Released 1 Sep 2020
Publication Country
Format Audio CD/Audio, Library Edition
 › 4 other possible formats available
Edition Library Edition
Author(s) By Zoboi, Ibi
By Salaam, Yusef
Read by Herrise, Ethan
Category Audio / Visual (Audio books, Music, DVDs, CDROMs)
Crime & Mystery
Racism, Sexism & Prejudice
Number of Pages Not specified
Dimensions Width: 170mm
Height: 155mm
Spine: 18mm
Dewey Code Not specified
Weight 181g
Interest Age 13+ years
Reading Age 13+ years
NBS Text Young Adult General Interest & Leisure
ONIX Text Young adult

TOP