Wheelers Books
The Long Journey Home: A powerful story of love and redemption for readers of Dinah Jefferies

The Long Journey Home: A powerful story of love and redemption for readers of Dinah Jefferies (Paperback)

By Blench, Cecily

  • RRP: $22.99
  • $17.24
  • Save $5.75
  • In Stock At Publisher

A moving and powerful novel of love, secrets and redemption in a country torn apart by war. For readers of Kate Furnivall and Dinah Jefferies. It's 1941 and Kate is living in Rangoon, the capital city of Burma. A world away from her traditional English upbringing, she loves the e...xotic climate and the culture of the people. When Edwin, a young man from London, starts working in the government office with her, a friendship develops between them. But Kate can sense that Edwin has secrets and is looking for a place to call home - something that she shares. As their bond grows, Kate helps Edwin to settle into life in Burma. But war is coming and when the Japanese invade, Kate and Edwin are forced to flee. They begin a perilous journey to India, but soon become separated. As Kate continues on her journey alone, she can't get the troubled young man she has come to care so deeply for out of her head. With the fallout of war all around them, in a place far from home, will Kate and Edwin survive their journey and find the peace they both so desperately seek? The Long Journey Home is the winner of the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize, Best Unpublished Manuscript Award.
Read more

ISBN 9781838773816
Released NZ 17 Sep 2021
Publisher Bonnier Zaffre
Format Paperback
Availability
110 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781838773816
Stock Available
Status In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
Publisher Bonnier Zaffre
Imprint Bonnier Zaffre
Released 17 Sep 2021
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Paperback
Author(s) By Blench, Cecily
Category Fiction
Adventure / Thriller
Historical Adventure Fiction
Romantic Fiction
Romantic Fiction: Historical
Historical Fiction
Second World War fiction
World History: Second World War
Military History
Battles & Campaigns
Number of Pages 400
Dimensions Width: 129mm
Height: 198mm
Spine: 24mm
Dewey Code 823.92
Weight 315g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress World War, 1939-1945 - Fiction, Burma - Fiction - History - 1824-1948
NBS Text Short Stories & Fiction Anthologies
ONIX Text General/trade;College/higher education;Professional and scholarly

TOP