Wheelers Books
David Copperfield vol.II

David Copperfield vol.II (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Unabridged edition)

By Dickens, Charles

  • RRP: $13.99
  • $13.99
  • Available At Publisher

An autobiographical novel revealing the author's own early life.

ISBN 9781847189356
Published 1 November 2008 by Cambridge Scholars Publishing
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, Unabridged edition
Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781847189356
ISBN-10 1847189350
Stock Available
Status Showing available at publisher; usually ships 7-14 working days
Publisher Cambridge Scholars Publishing
Imprint CSP Classic Texts
Publication Date 1 November 2008
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, Unabridged edition
Edition Unabridged edition
Author(s) By Dickens, Charles
Category General & Literary Fiction
Classic Fiction
Number of Pages 373
Dimensions Width: 148mm
Height: 212mm
Weight 331g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text General & Literary Fiction
ONIX Text Professional and scholarly
Dewey Code 823.8
Catalogue Code Not specified

Description of this Book

David Copperfield is Dickens's most autobiographical novel, revealing of his own early life but also a masterpiece as a novel. It has been highly popular from its first publication.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

There are no reviews for this title.

^ top

Author's Bio

Charles Dickens (1812-1870) is one of the most widely read English writers. Dickens started his writing career as a freelance reporter for the proctors in the Court of Doctors' commons, which later served as a source of information and inspiration for many of his vivid characters and social novels. In 1832, at the age of 20, he became a reporter on The Mirror of Parliament and on The Trues Sun. Dickens reported from the gallery of the House of Commons. He soon moved to larger newspapers which presented him with the opportunity to publish a series of papers. Sketches by Boz and Pickwick Papers were published in 1836, the year he married Catherine Hogarth with whom he had 10 children and whom he divorced later in life. Dickens wrote relentlessly with his first novels appearing in monthly instalments, a popular fashion at the time: Oliver Twist (1837-1839), Nicholas Nickleby (1838-1839), The Old Curiosity Shop (1840-1841) and Barnaby Rudge: A Tale of the Riots of 'Eighty as part of the Master Humphrey's Clock series (1840-1841). Numerous other novels followed: David Copperfield, Bleak House, A Tale of Two Cities, Great Expectations, Our Mutual Friend, and the unfinished The Mystery of Edwin Drood. Presenting his readers with a plethora of vivid characters, Dickens's novels were a medium for social commentary as he was a fierce critic of poverty and social divisions of Victorian society. Many of his novels have been adapted for theatre, cinema and television.

^ top