Wheelers Books
The Spiral Stair

The Spiral Stair (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Re-issue)

By Aiken, Joan
Illustrated by Blake, Quentin

Giraffe thieves are about! Arabel and her raven have to act fast!

ISBN 9781847806949
Barcode 9781847806949
Published 1 August 2015 by Frances Lincoln Publishers Ltd
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, Re-issue
Alternate Format(s) View All (2 other possible title(s) available)
Series Arabel and Mortimer Series
Availability and pricing is uncertain (no recent updates from publisher)

... view full title details below.

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781847806949
ISBN-10 1847806945
Stock Out of stock
Status Availability and pricing is uncertain (no recent updates from publisher)
Publisher Frances Lincoln Publishers Ltd
Imprint Frances Lincoln Childrens Books
Publication Date 1 August 2015
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback, Re-issue
Edition Re-issue
Author(s) By Aiken, Joan
Illustrated by Blake, Quentin
Series Arabel and Mortimer Series
Category Fiction (Child / Teen)
Adventure Stories
Animal Stories
Number of Pages 80
Dimensions Width: 129mm
Height: 198mm
Spine: 4mm
Weight 56g
Interest Age 7-9 years
Reading Age 7-9 years
NBS Text Children's Fiction
ONIX Text Children/juvenile
Dewey Code 823.914
Catalogue Code 613112

Description of this Book

With Noah the boa using his coils to work the doughnut machine and with the three giraffes tangled upon the spiral stair, Mortimer's first night in a zoo was one to be remembered for a long, long time.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

UK Review Bertrams Star Rating: 3 stars (out of 5)

^ top

Author's Bio

JOAN AIKEN, the daughter of the American poet and novelist Conrad Aiken, was an immensely popular and prolific author who wrote over a hundred novels for adults and children. The creator of the stories about Arabel and her pet raven Mortimer, originally written for the BBC's Jackanory series and which have been televised on the BBC, she also wrote wonderful, quirky novels, full of humour and the unexpected. The Wolves of Willoughby Chase won the 1964 Lewis Carroll Shelf Award and was made into a film. Joan Aiken was awarded an MBE for her services to children's literature in 1999. She died in 2004. QUENTIN BLAKE is one of the best-known illustrators of our time, and his books with a wide range of authors, including Joan Aiken, Russell Hoban, Michael Rosen and Roald Dahl, have been treasured by generations of children throughout the world. In 1999 he became the first Children's Laureate. In 2005 he was awarded a CBE, and in 2013 he was knighted for services to illustration. Quentin lives in London.

^ top