Wheelers Books

All Gone to Look for America

All Gone to Look for America

Suitable for modern Britons keen to get beneath the skin of the country that more than any other influences their lives, for intelligent Americans open to an oblique look at their own country, and for railway lovers everywhere.

Unfortunately, publisher restrictions limit this title's availability to school and public library account customers only.
School & Public Library Accounts please log in.

Quick Reference

ISBN 9781906413026
Published 8 January 2009
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Alternate Format(s) View All (1 other possible title(s) available)
Author(s) By Millar, Peter
Availability Title is temporarily out of stock

... view full title details below.

  • $34.99 Retail price
  • $27.99 Wheelers price
  • You save $7.00!

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781906413026
ISBN-10 1906413029
Stock Available
Status Title is temporarily out of stock
Publisher unlisted
Imprint Arcadia Books
Publication Date 8 January 2009
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Trade Paperback/Paperback
Author(s) By Millar, Peter
Category Travel Writing
Number of Pages 319
Dimensions Width: 138mm
Height: 216mm
Weight Not specified - defaults to 600g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
NBS Text Travel Writing
ONIX Text General/trade
Dewey Code 917.304932
Catalogue Code 127159

Description of this Book

In this unique mixture of memoir and travelogue portrayed through sharp and vivid narrative, a man sets out to rediscover the United States by following the ravaged last traces of the railroad. Armed with only a shoestring budget, his favorite tunes, a backpack, and an open mind, Peter Millar crossed the country two and a half times in hopes of discovering the quintessential American experience--from the people to the music to the beer selection--all the while watching the vast American landscape unfold in slow motion around him. In the tradition of Bill Bryson and Paul Theroux, this witty and observant novel presents a fun and educational journey across the U.S. characterized by powerful descriptions, intelligent humor, and undeniable humanity.

^ top

Awards, Reviews & Star Ratings

NZ Review 'He writes with a confidence and an historical grasp that compel the reader to take his scary theories seriously' Marcel Berlins in The Times on Bleak Midwinter

^ top

Author's Bio

Peter Millar is an award-winning British journalist, author and translator, and has been a correspondent for Reuters, Sunday Times and Sunday Telegraph. He was named Foreign Correspondent of the Year for his reporting on the dying stages of the Cold War, his account of which - 1989: The Berlin Wall, My Part in its Downfall - was named 'best read' by The Economist.

^ top