Wheelers Books
Do Something For Nothing
 

Do Something For Nothing (Hardback)

By Coombes, Joshua

  • RRP: $54.99
  • $41.26
  • Save $13.73
  • In Stock UK

For fans of Humans Of New York and The Pursuit of Happyness. 'A big-hearted and world-shaking idea' - Nick Cave 'Turn a common, everyday act into something potentially transformative.' - Michael Sheen 'Moving and inspiring' - Johann Hari 'Small acts of love can make a big impact....' - Morgan Freeman When you're on the fringes of society, being recognised can mean everything. In 2015, while working at a London hair salon, Joshua Coombes took to the streets with his scissors to build relationships with people sleeping rough in the capital, and began posting transformative images on social media to amplify their voices. These stories resonated and thousands of people got involved in their own way. From this, #DoSomethingForNothing was born - a movement that encourages people to contribute their skills and time to those who need it. This book explores themes of love, acceptance, shame and perseverance, while inviting us to see ourselves in one another and challenge the negative stigmas surrounding homelessness. Through the simple act of a haircut, Joshua takes you on a journey into the lives of people experiencing homelessness in different cities across the world. Featuring before-and-after photographs, street art and stories, this book is an inspiring and uplifting account of one man's experiences with people who have more in common with all of us than you might imagine. A portion of the proceeds from this book will be donated to organisations dedicated to assisting unsheltered people, as well as supporting future not-for-profit art projects.
Read more

ISBN 9781911632160
Publisher Murdoch Books
Format Hardback
Availability
Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days

Full details for this title

ISBN-13 9781911632160
Stock Available
Status Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
Publisher Murdoch Books
Imprint Murdoch Books
Publication Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
Format Hardback
Author(s) By Coombes, Joshua
Category Photographs: Collections
Homelessness
Number of Pages 224
Dimensions Width: 152mm
Height: 229mm
Dewey Code 305.5692
Weight 718g
Interest Age General Audience
Reading Age General Audience
Library of Congress Homeless persons, Homeless persons - Portraits, Homelessness, Haircutting - Social aspects, Social movements
NBS Text Social Issues, Services & Welfare
ONIX Text General/trade

TOP