Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Janet Skeslien Charles

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 6 jump to: go
              The Paris Library: the bestselling novel of courage and betrayal in Occupied Paris

              The Paris Library: the bestselling novel of courage and betrayal in Occupied Paris (Hardback)

              By Charles, Janet Skeslien

              • RRP: $60.00
              • $46.80
              • Save $13.20
              • In Stock At Publisher

              Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie So...ciety.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781529335446
              Released NZ 9 Feb 2021
              Publisher John Murray Press
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              122 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
              View details for this title
              The Paris Library
                

              The Paris Library (Audio CD / Audio)

              Read by Charles, Janet Skeslien; Diss, Nicky; Feathers, Sarah; Wane, Esther

              • RRP: $84.99
              • $65.90
              • Save $19.09
              • Backorder US

              Based on the true World War II story of the American Library in Paris, an unforgettable novel about the power of books and the bonds of friendship--and the ordinary heroes who can be found in the most perilous times and the quietest places. Paris, 1939. Young, ambitious, and temp...estuous, Odile Souchet has it all: Paul, her handsome police officer beau; Margaret, her best friend from England; Remy, her twin brother who she adores; and a dream job at the American Library in Paris, working alongside the library's legendary director, Dorothy Reeder. When World War II breaks out, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear--including her beloved library. After the Nazi army marches into the City of Light and declares a war on words, Odile and her fellow librarians join the Resistance with the best weapons they have: books. Again and again, they risk their lives to help their fellow Jewish readers, but by war's end, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal. Montana, 1983. Odile's solitary existence in gossipy small-town Montana is unexpectedly interrupted by her neighbor Lily, a lonely teenager craving adventure. As Lily uncovers more about Odile's mysterious past, they find they share not only a love of language but also the same lethal jealousy. Odile helps Lily navigate the troubled waters of adolescence by always recommending the right book at the right time, never suspecting that Lily will be the one to help her reckon with her own terrible secret. Based on the true story of the American Library in Paris, The Paris Library is a mesmerizing and captivating novel about the people and the books that make us who we are, for good and for bad, and the courage it takes to forgive.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781797104997
              Released NZ 9 Feb 2021
              Publisher Simon & Schuster Audio
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced (on backorder); allow 4-8 weeks
              View details for this title
              The Paris Library: the bestselling novel of courage and betrayal in Occupied Paris

              The Paris Library: the bestselling novel of courage and betrayal in Occupied Paris (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Charles, Janet Skeslien

              • RRP: $34.99
              • $27.29
              • Save $7.70
              • In Stock At Publisher

              Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie So...ciety.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781529335453
              Released NZ 9 Feb 2021
              Publisher John Murray Press
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              118 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
              View details for this title
              The Paris Library
               

              The Paris Library (Hardback)

              By Charles, Janet Skeslien

              • RRP: $59.50
              • $46.15
              • Save $13.35
              • In Stock US

              Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife. Paris, 1939: Yo...ung and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal. Montana, 1983: Lily is a lonely teenager looking for adventure in small-town Montana. Her interest is piqued by her solitary, elderly neighbor. As Lily uncovers more about her neighbor's mysterious past, she finds that they share a love of language, the same longings, and the same intense jealousy, never suspecting that a dark secret from the past connects them. A powerful novel that explores the consequences of our choices and the relationships that make us who we are--family, friends, and favorite authors--The Paris Library shows that extraordinary heroism can sometimes be found in the quietest of places.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781982134198
              Released NZ 9 Feb 2021
              Publisher Atria Books
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              The Paris Library
                 

              The Paris Library (Library Binding, Large type / large print edition)

              By Charles, Janet Skeslien

              • RRP: $128.50
              • $70.71
              • Save $57.79
              • Backorder US

              Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife. Paris, 1939: Yo...ung and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal. Montana, 1983: Lily is a lonely teenager looking for adventure in small-town Montana. Her interest is piqued by her solitary, elderly neighbor. As Lily uncovers more about her neighbor's mysterious past, she finds that they share a love of language, the same longings, and the same intense jealousy, never suspecting that a dark secret from the past connects them. A powerful novel that explores the consequences of our choices and the relationships that make us who we are--family, friends, and favorite authors--The Paris Library shows that extraordinary heroism can sometimes be found in the quietest of places.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781432879686
              Released NZ 24 Feb 2021
              Publisher Wheeler Publishing Large Print
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced (on backorder); allow 4-8 weeks
              View details for this title
              Paris Library (Export)
               

              Paris Library (Export) (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Charles, Janet Skeslien

              • RRP: $36.99
              • $28.02
              • Save $8.97
              • In Stock US
              ISBN 9781982172534
              Released NZ 2 Feb 2021
              Publisher Simon & Schuster Export
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Total 6 jump to: go