Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Gretchen Berg

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 7 jump to: go
              The Operator [Large Print]
               

              The Operator [Large Print] (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Large type / large print edition)

              By Berg, Gretchen

              • RRP: $59.99
              • $44.99
              • Save $15.00
              • Pre Release Local

              A clever, surprising, and ultimately moving debut novel, set in a small Midwestern town in the early 1950s, about a nosy switchboard operator who overhears gossip involving her own family, and the unraveling that discovery sets into motion. In a small town, everyone knows everyon...e else's business . . . Nobody knows the people of Wooster, Ohio, better than switchboard operator Vivian Dalton, and she'd be the first to tell you that. She calls it intuition. Her teenage daughter, Charlotte, calls it eavesdropping. Vivian and the other women who work at Bell on East Liberty Street connect lines and lives. They aren't supposed to listen in on conversations, but they do, and they all have opinions on what they hear especially Vivian. She knows that Mrs. Butler's ungrateful daughter, Maxine, still hasn't thanked her mother for the quilt she made, and that Ginny Frazier turned down yet another invitation to go to the A&W with Clyde Walsh. Then, one cold December night, Vivian listens in on a call between that snob Betty Miller and someone whose voice she can't quite place and hears something shocking. Betty Miller's mystery friend has news that, if true, will shatter Vivian's tidy life in Wooster, humiliating her and making her the laughingstock of the town. Vivian may be mortified, but she isn't going to take this lying down. She's going to get to the bottom of that rumor--get into it, get under it, poke around in the corners. Find every last bit. Vivian wants the truth, no matter how painful it may be. But as Vivian is about to be reminded, in a small town like Wooster, one secret usually leads to another. . . .
              Read more

              ISBN 9780062978943
              Released NZ 23 Mar 2020
              Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once released
              View details for this title
              The Operator: You can't unhear a secret . . .

              The Operator: You can't unhear a secret . . . (Hardback)

              By Berg, Gretchen

              • RRP: $60.00
              • $46.80
              • Save $13.20
              • To Order

              A delightful, uplifting and moving novel about a 1950s switchboard operator who learns a shocking secret about her marriage when she eavesdrops on a phone conversation. Perfect for readers of Kathryn Stockett's THE HELP, Sue Monk Kidd's THE SECRET LIFE OF BEES and Anne Tyler's CL...OCK DANCE.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781472264107
              Released NZ 10 Mar 2020
              Publisher Headline Publishing Group
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
              View details for this title
              The Operator: You can't unhear a secret . . .

              The Operator: You can't unhear a secret . . . (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Berg, Gretchen

              • RRP: $34.99
              • $27.29
              • Save $7.70
              • In Stock At Publisher

              A delightful, uplifting and moving novel about a 1950s switchboard operator who learns a shocking secret about her marriage when she eavesdrops on a phone conversation. Perfect for fans of ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE and THE HELP.

              ISBN 9781472264121
              Released NZ 10 Mar 2020
              Publisher Headline Publishing Group
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              I Have Iraq in My Shoe
               

              I Have Iraq in My Shoe (Paperback)

              By Berg, Gretchen

              • RRP: $34.99
              • $31.49
              • Save $3.50
              • Temporarily out of stock

              A delightfully absurd fish out of water tale straight from the heart of the desert Irreverent, hilarious, and completely relevant, I Have Iraq in My Shoe is a memoir that's sure to resonate with the many 20-somethings struggling find their place in the world.

              ISBN 9781402265792
              Released NZ 25 May 2012
              Publisher Sourcebooks, Inc
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Title is temporarily out of stock
              View details for this title
              I Have Iraq in My Shoe: Misadventures of a Soldier of Fashion
               

              I Have Iraq in My Shoe: Misadventures of a Soldier of Fashion (EPUB ebook)

              By Berg, Gretchen

              "I am not moving to Iraq to teach." How does a liberal American girl in red suede boots end up teaching English to conservative Muslim Iraqis in headscarves? Gretchen Berg has met the recession: she has eaten cereal for dinner, given up the gym membership, and come face to face w...ith looming unemployment. To cope, she decided to uproot her life and move to the Middle East. She expected to make some good money, pay off some bad debt, and take some photos of camels. She did not expect to feel at home. She did not expect to fall for a student. She did not expect Diet Coke withdrawal. Irreverent, hilarious, and completely relevant, I Have Iraq in My Shoe takes a single, broke, fashion-conscious American female who prefers Project Runaway to CNN and tosses her into Iraq in exchange for cash and vacation time. Watch the desert sand fly!
              Read more

              ISBN 9781402265808
              Available in EPUB
              Software Adobe Ebook Compatible Devices
              Language en
              Released NZ 1 May 2012
              Publisher Sourcebooks Inc
              Interest Age General Audience
              View details for this title
              The Operator Lib/E
                

              The Operator Lib/E (Audio CD / Audio, Library Edition)

              By Berg, Gretchen; Read by Ryan, Allyson

              • RRP: $127.50
              • $102.00
              • Save $25.50
              • Pre Release International

              The Operator has descriptive copy which is not yet available from the Publisher.

              ISBN 9781094116259
              Released NZ 10 Mar 2020
              Publisher HarperCollins
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 10 Mar 2020
              View details for this title
              The Operator
               

              The Operator (Hardback)

              By Berg, Gretchen

              • RRP: $59.50
              • $47.60
              • Save $11.90
              • In Stock US

              A clever, surprising, and ultimately moving debut novel, set in a small Midwestern town in the early 1950s, about a nosy switchboard operator who overhears gossip involving her own family, and the unraveling that discovery sets into motion. In a small town, everyone knows everyon...e else's business . . . Nobody knows the people of Wooster, Ohio, better than switchboard operator Vivian Dalton, and she'd be the first to tell you that. She calls it intuition. Her teenage daughter, Charlotte, calls it eavesdropping. Vivian and the other women who work at Bell on East Liberty Street connect lines and lives. They aren't supposed to listen in on conversations, but they do, and they all have opinions on what they hear especially Vivian. She knows that Mrs. Butler's ungrateful daughter, Maxine, still hasn't thanked her mother for the quilt she made, and that Ginny Frazier turned down yet another invitation to go to the A&W with Clyde Walsh. Then, one cold December night, Vivian listens in on a call between that snob Betty Miller and someone whose voice she can't quite place and hears something shocking. Betty Miller's mystery friend has news that, if true, will shatter Vivian's tidy life in Wooster, humiliating her and making her the laughingstock of the town. Vivian may be mortified, but she isn't going to take this lying down. She's going to get to the bottom of that rumor--get into it, get under it, poke around in the corners. Find every last bit. Vivian wants the truth, no matter how painful it may be. But as Vivian is about to be reminded, in a small town like Wooster, one secret usually leads to another. . . .
              Read more

              ISBN 9780062917188
              Released NZ 10 Mar 2020
              Publisher William Morrow & Company
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-12 working days
              View details for this title
              Total 7 jump to: go