Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by David Boyd

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 43 jump to: go ‹ previous12345next ›
              Diary of a Void: A Novel
                 

              Diary of a Void: A Novel (Hardback)

              By Yagi, Emi; Translated by Boyd, David; North, Lucy

              • RRP: $48.99
              • $47.76
              • Save $1.23
              • Pub Date
                9 Aug 22

              A prizewinning, thrillingly subversive debut novel about a woman in Japan who avoids harassment at work by perpetuating, for nine months and beyond, the lie that she's pregnant When thirty-four-year-old Ms. Shibata gets a new job in Tokyo to escape sexual harassment at her old on...e, she finds that, as the only woman at her new workplace-a company that manufactures cardboard tubes-she is expected to do all the menial tasks. One day she announces that she can't clear away her colleagues' dirty cups-because she's pregnant and the smell nauseates her. The only thing is . . . Ms. Shibata is not pregnant. Pregnant Ms. Shibata doesn't have to serve coffee to anyone. Pregnant Ms. Shibata isn't forced to work overtime. Pregnant Ms. Shibata rests, watches TV, takes long baths, and even joins an aerobics class for expectant mothers. But pregnant Ms. Shibata also has a nine-month ruse to keep up. Helped along by towel-stuffed shirts and a diary app on which she can log every stage of her pregnancy, she feels prepared to play the game for the long haul. Before long, though, the hoax becomes all-absorbing, and the boundary between her lie and her life begins to dissolve. A surreal and wryly humorous cultural critique, Diary of a Void is bound to become a landmark in feminist world literature.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780143136873
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age General Audience
              Language (English)
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 9 Aug 2022
              View details for this title
              Diary of a Void: A hilarious, feminist debut novel from a new star of Japanese fiction
               

              Diary of a Void: A hilarious, feminist debut novel from a new star of Japanese fiction (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Yagi, Emi; Translated by North, Lucy; Boyd, David

              • RRP: $35.00
              • $28.70
              • Save $6.30
              • Pub Date
                16 Aug 22

              Thirty-four-year-old Ms Shibata works for a company manufacturing cardboard tubes and paper cores in Tokyo. Her job is relatively secure- she's a full-time employee, and the company has a better reputation than her previous workplace, where she was subject to sexual harassment by... clients and colleagues. But the job requires working overtime almost every day. Most frustratingly, as the only woman, there's the unspoken expectation that Ms Shibata will handle all the menial chores- serving coffee during meetings, cleaning the kitchenette, coordinating all the gifts sent to the company, emptying the bins. One day, exasperated and fed up, Ms Shibata announces that she can't clear away her colleagues' dirty cups, because she's pregnant. She isn't. But her 'news' brings results- a sudden change in the way she's treated. Immediately a new life begins. Written in diary form, Diary of a Void is an ironic and playful reference to the Japanese 'Maternal and Child Health Handbook' (Boshi Techo; the novel's original title), a notebook issued to all expectant mothers in Japan so they can record the details of their pregnancies and experiences of motherhood until their child is six years old. By turns hilarious and thought-provoking, Ms Shibata's diary of her fake pregnancy not only skewers universal patriarchal attitudes towards maternity and pregnancy, it also challenges the truth of conception on many levels. For fans of Convenience Store Woman, Kim Jiyoung, Born in 1982, and The Vegetarian, this is a wonderfully witty and smart, feminist novel poking fun, but with serious intent, at the sanctity of motherhood, and how society superficially reveres mothers while conversely making actual parenting a sometimes disempowering and isolating experience without the right support.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781787302945
              Released NZ 16 Aug 2022
              Publisher Vintage
              Interest Age 16+ years
              Language (English)
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once released
              View details for this title
              All The Lovers In The Night
               

              All The Lovers In The Night (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Kawakami, Mieko; Translated by Bett, Sam; Boyd, David

              • RRP: $38.95
              • $38.95
              • Internationally sourced

              From the bestselling author of Breasts and Eggs and international literary sensation Mieko Kawakami comes a deeply moving and magnificently observed story about a young woman searching for meaning.

              ISBN 9781509898268
              Publisher Pan Macmillan
              Interest Age 18+ years
              Language (English)
              Availability
              Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 10-15 working days
              View details for this title
              Almost Nothing, Yet Everything: A Book about Water
               

              Almost Nothing, Yet Everything: A Book about Water (Hardback)

              By Osada, Hiroshi; Illustrated by Arai, Ryoji; Translated by Boyd, David

              • RRP: $34.99
              • $33.24
              • Save $1.75
              • To Order

              Existing in myriad forms, containing multitudes in its reflection, and coursing through each and every one of us, water sustains the world around us-and life itself.

              ISBN 9781592703579
              Released NZ 1 Apr 2022
              Publisher Enchanted Lion Books
              Interest Age 4-8 years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
              View details for this title
              Every Color of Light: A Book about the Sky
               

              Every Color of Light: A Book about the Sky (Hardback)

              By Osada, Hiroshi; Illustrated by Arai, Ryoji; Translated by Boyd, David

              • RRP: $34.99
              • $33.24
              • Save $1.75
              • In Stock At Supplier

              Poetic and sparse, The Sky Book is a bedtime story told by the elements.

              ISBN 9781592702916
              Released NZ 13 Dec 2020
              Publisher Enchanted Lion Books
              Interest Age 4-8 years
              Availability
              2 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Heaven

              Heaven (Paperback)

              By Kawakami, Mieko; Translated by Bett, Sam; Boyd, David

              • RRP: $24.99
              • $19.99
              • Save $5.00
              • In Stock At Supplier

              From the bestselling author of Breasts and Eggs and international literary sensation Mieko Kawakami comes a sharp and illuminating novel about a teenage boy subjected to relentless bullying.

              ISBN 9781509898251
              Released NZ 9 Jun 2022
              Publisher Pan Macmillan
              Interest Age 18+ years
              Language (English)
              Availability
              345 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
              View details for this title
              The Little One
               

              The Little One (Hardback)

              Created by Tanaka, Kiyo; Translated by Boyd, David

              • RRP: $34.99
              • $33.24
              • Save $1.75
              • To Order

              On her way home, a young girl meets a little figure that only she can see. Join the pair on an afternoon filled with tea and adventures, friendship and magic!

              ISBN 9781592703586
              Released NZ 4 Apr 2022
              Publisher Enchanted Lion Books
              Interest Age 4-8 years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
              View details for this title
              Rereading Frye: The Published and the Unpublished Works
               

              Rereading Frye: The Published and the Unpublished Works (Hardback, 74th Revised edition)

              Edited by Boyd, David V.; Salusinszky, Imre; By Boyd, David

              • RRP: $145.00
              • $145.00
              • Back Order Indent title

              Written by a distinguished group of Frye experts, this collection of essays begins the process of reassessing Frye's thought and writings in light of extraordinary, unpublished material contained in archives at the Victoria University Library, University of Toronto.

              ISBN 9780802042521
              Released NZ 19 Jun 1999
              Publisher Misc - NewSouth
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series Frye studies
              Availability
              Back Order Indent title (sourced internationally), Allow 8-12 weeks due to Covid 19 freight delays
              View details for this title
              Breasts and Eggs
               

              Breasts and Eggs (Paperback)

              By Kawakami, Mieko; Translated by Bett, Sam; Boyd, David

              • RRP: $32.50
              • $25.96
              • Save $6.54
              • Reprinting locally

              A strange and beguiling novel about three women struggling to determine their own lives in contemporary Tokyo, from Japan's most exciting young writer, Mieko Kawakami

              ISBN 9781529074413
              Publisher Pan Macmillan
              Interest Age 18+ years
              Language (English)
              Availability
              Reprinting locally, In Stock Internationally
              View details for this title
              Chirri & Chirra, Under the Sea
               

              Chirri & Chirra, Under the Sea (Hardback)

              By Doi, Kaya; Translated by Boyd, David

              • RRP: $34.99
              • $33.24
              • Save $1.75
              • In Stock At Supplier

              On their sixth adventure, Chirri and Chirra bicycle beneath the waves, discovering the beauty of coral and seashells, and the deliciousness of marine edibles.

              ISBN 9781592703029
              Released NZ 1 Jun 2020
              Publisher Enchanted Lion Books
              Interest Age 2-6 years
              Series Chirri & Chirra
              Availability
              4 In-stock at supplier; ships 7-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Total 43 jump to: go ‹ previous12345next ›