Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Polly Ho-Yen

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 9 jump to: go
              How I Saved the World in a Week

              How I Saved the World in a Week (Paperback)

              By Ho-Yen, Polly

              • RRP: $19.99
              • $15.59
              • Save $4.40
              • In Stock At Publisher

              A brilliantly imagined new middle-grade adventure about resilience, family and hope. From the bestselling and Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author of BOY IN THE TOWER. Perfect for fans of Ross Welford and Onjali Rauf.

              ISBN 9781471193545
              Released NZ 8 Sep 2021
              Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
              Interest Age 8-12 years
              Availability
              577 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
              View details for this title
              Boy In The Tower

              Boy In The Tower (Paperback)

              By Ho-Yen, Polly

              • RRP: $19.99
              • $14.99
              • Save $5.00
              • To Order

              When they first arrived, they came quietly and stealthily as if they tip-toed into the world when we were all looking the other way. Ade loves living at the top of a tower block. From his window, he feels like he can see the whole world stretching out beneath him. His mum doesn't... really like looking outside - but it's going outside that she hates.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780552569163
              Released NZ 1 Jun 2015
              Publisher Penguin Random House Australia
              Interest Age 9-11 years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
              View details for this title
              Penguin Readers Level 2: Boy In The Tower (ELT Graded Reader)
               

              Penguin Readers Level 2: Boy In The Tower (ELT Graded Reader) (Paperback)

              By Ho-Yen, Polly

              • RRP: $17.99
              • $13.49
              • Save $4.50
              • To Order

              Penguin Readers is an ELT graded reader series for learners of English as a foreign language. With carefully adapted text, new illustrations and language learning exercises, the print edition also includes instructions to access supporting material online. Titles include popular ...classics, exciting contemporary fiction, and thought-provoking non-fiction, introducing language learners to bestselling authors and compelling content. The eight levels of Penguin Readers follow the Common European Framework of Reference for language learning (CEFR). Exercises at the back of each Reader help language learners to practise grammar, vocabulary, and key exam skills. Before, during and after-reading questions test readers' story comprehension and develop vocabulary. Boy In The Tower, a Level 2 Reader, is A1+ in the CEFR framework. Sentences contain a maximum of two clauses, introducing the future tenses will and going to, present continuous for future meaning, and comparatives and superlatives. It is well supported by illustrations, which appear on most pages. Ade lives in a tower block in London. One day, something bad happens to Ade's mum. After that, she stays in her bedroom all the time and sleeps. Then buildings start falling down in the night, and there are strange plants on the street. What will happen to Ade and his friend Gaia? Visit the Penguin Readers website Exclusively with the print edition, readers can unlock online resources including a digital book, audio edition, lesson plans and answer keys.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780241520666
              Released NZ 30 Sep 2021
              Publisher Penguin Random House Australia
              Interest Age Children / Young Adults
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
              View details for this title
              Two Sides
               

              Two Sides (Hardback)

              By Ho-Yen, Polly; Illustrated by Talib, Binny

              • RRP: $18.99
              • $14.72
              • Save $4.27
              • No availability locally

              Lula is a Dog Person and Lenka is a Cat Person; Lula is super messy and Lenka is totally tidy; Lula likes talking and Lenka likes watching - but together they make the perfect pair. Until The Day that Everything Goes Wrong and they are no longer friends. Despite feeling lonely, n...either is prepared to listen or forgive. Will it be this way forever?
              Read more

              ISBN 9781788950626
              Publisher Little Tiger Press Group
              Interest Age 5-8 years
              Series Colour Fiction
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
              View details for this title
              Where Monsters Lie

              Where Monsters Lie (Paperback)

              By Ho-Yen, Polly

              • RRP: $17.99
              • $13.49
              • Save $4.50
              • To Order

              The children of Mivtown have grown up hearing the legend of the monsters of the loch. But it's only a story - a warning to stay away from the water. Then strange things start happening in the village.

              ISBN 9780552569170
              Released NZ 29 Aug 2016
              Publisher Penguin Random House Australia
              Interest Age 9-11 years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
              View details for this title
              My Other Life: A Bloomsbury Reader
               

              My Other Life: A Bloomsbury Reader (Paperback)

              By Ho-Yen, Polly; Illustrated by Hu, Patricia

              • RRP: $16.97
              • $16.97
              • Internationally sourced

              Thought-provoking contemporary fantasy from best-selling author Polly Ho-Yen. Mae spends a lot of time in hospitals. She's had asthma since she was little and sometimes she just can't breathe. She was in hospital the very first time she saw the hole - a tear in the universe which... seems to appear only to her. Before she knows it she is drawn into a parallel world, where things aren't quite the same... This powerful fantasy story is full of big ideas and a great way to talk about chronic illness with children. It has beautiful black-and-white illustrations from TBC throughout, and is ideal for children who are developing as readers. The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence, covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. Book Band: Brown Ideal for ages 7+
              Read more

              ISBN 9781472972576
              Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
              Interest Age 7-9 years
              Series Bloomsbury Readers
              Availability
              Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Fly Me Home

              Fly Me Home (Paperback)

              By Ho-Yen, Polly

              • RRP: $21.00
              • $15.75
              • Save $5.25
              • To Order

              Home used to be somewhere Leelu felt safe and happy but her new home in London isn't either of those things. It's cold and grey and so far from her real home where her dad is. Then Leelu begins to find little gifts outside her house - wonders which give her strange magical powers.... Who is leaving her these surprise presents?
              Read more

              ISBN 9780552576239
              Released NZ 28 Aug 2017
              Publisher Penguin Random House Australia
              Interest Age 9-11 years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
              View details for this title
              The Day No One Woke Up
               

              The Day No One Woke Up (Paperback)

              By Ho-Yen, Polly

              • RRP: $17.99
              • $14.03
              • Save $3.96
              • Pub Date
                1 Sep 22

              An out-of-this-world middle-grade adventure about finding friendship in the most unlikely of places.

              ISBN 9781471193569
              Released NZ 1 Sep 2022
              Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
              Interest Age 9-11 years
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once released
              View details for this title
              Dark Lullaby

              Dark Lullaby (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Ho-Yen, Polly

              • RRP: $24.99
              • $22.49
              • Save $2.50
              • In Stock At Publisher

              For fans of Black Mirror and The Handmaid's Tale, in Dark Lullaby a mother desperately tries to keep her family together in a society where parenting standards are strictly monitored.

              ISBN 9781789094251
              Released NZ 1 Jun 2021
              Publisher Titan Books Ltd
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              130 In-stock at publisher; ships 7-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Total 9 jump to: go