Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Marisa Silver

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 10 jump to: go
              Little Nothing

              Little Nothing (Hardback)

              By Silver, Marisa

              • RRP: $24.99
              • $19.99
              • Save $5.00
              • Temporarily out of stock

              Blending fable and folklore, Silver conjures an electric, pitch-black allegory for fans of Angela Carter and Franz Kafka

              ISBN 9781786071279
              Released NZ 29 Mar 2017
              Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Title is temporarily out of stock
              View details for this title
              Little Nothing

              Little Nothing (Paperback)

              By Silver, Marisa

              • RRP: $21.99
              • $17.59
              • Save $4.40
              • Temporarily out of stock

              Blending fable and folklore, Silver conjures an electric, pitch-black allegory for fans of Angela Carter and Franz Kafka

              ISBN 9781786072368
              Released NZ 1 Jan 2018
              Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Title is temporarily out of stock
              View details for this title
              The God of War: A Novel

              The God of War: A Novel (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Silver, Marisa

              • RRP: $32.00
              • $24.96
              • Save $7.04
              • To Order

              Marisa Silver's The God of War is an indelible novel about the end of childhood and the devious valour of love.

              ISBN 9781416563174
              Released NZ 1 Jun 2009
              Publisher Simon & Schuster
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
              View details for this title
              No Direction Home: A Novel
                

              No Direction Home: A Novel (Paperback, New title)

              By Silver, Marisa

              • RRP: $48.99
              • $41.74
              • Save $7.25
              • No availability locally

              Inhabiting the uncomfortable space between loss and self-discovery, this debut novel tells of missing fathers and the women and children they leave behind. The lives of three families converge in Los Angeles where the very needs and desires that have torn them apart allow them a ...measure of hope together.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780393328745
              Released NZ 17 Jul 2006
              Publisher WW Norton & Co
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
              View details for this title
              Babe in Paradise: Fiction
                

              Babe in Paradise: Fiction (Paperback, New title)

              By Silver, Marisa

              • RRP: $44.50
              • $39.65
              • Save $4.85
              • No availability locally

              A debut collection of short stories journeys into the lives of characters who live on the periphery of the glamour and success of modern-day Los Angeles in such works as What I Saw from Where I Stood about a young couple confronting the loss of a child and the title story about a... woman faced with
              Read more

              ISBN 9780393323849
              Released NZ 17 Sep 2002
              Publisher WW Norton & Co
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
              View details for this title
              The God of War
                

              The God of War (Audio CD / Audio)

              By Silver, Marisa; Read by Brick, Scott

              • RRP: $76.99
              • $62.66
              • Save $14.33
              • In Stock US

              In a scruffy desert town in California in 1978, a twelve-year-old boy struggles with the guilt and responsibility stemming from his family situation, a mentally handicapped brother and misguided mother.

              ISBN 9781433212284
              Released NZ 1 Apr 2008
              Publisher Blackstone Audiobooks
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              The Mysteries
                

              The Mysteries (Hardback)

              By Silver, Marisa

              • RRP: $55.50
              • $46.89
              • Save $8.61
              • Pub Date
                4 May 21

              From the New York Times bestselling author of Mary Coin, a masterful, intimate story of two young girls, joined in an unlikely friendship, whose lives are shattered in a single, unthinkable moment. Miggy Brenneman is a wild and reckless seven-year-old with a fierce imagination, h...ellbent on pushing against the limits of childhood. Ellen is polite, cautious, and drawn to her friend's bright flame. While the adults around them adjust to unstable times and fractured relationships, the girls respond with increasingly dangerous play. When tragedy strikes, all the novel's characters grapple with questions of fate and individual responsibility, none more so than Miggy, who must make sense of a swiftly disappearing past and a radically transformed future. Written with searing clarity and surpassing tenderness, The Mysteries limns the painful ambiguities of adulthood and the intense perceptions of an indelibly drawn child to offer a profound exploration of how all of us, at every stage, must reckon with life's abundant and unsolvable mysteries.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781635576443
              Released NZ 4 May 2021
              Publisher Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 4 May 2021
              View details for this title
              Little Nothing
               

              Little Nothing (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Silver, Marisa

              • RRP: $40.99
              • $33.48
              • Save $7.51
              • In Stock US

              The story of a girl, scorned for her physical deformity, whose passion and salvation lie in her otherworldly ability to transform herself and the world around her --Amazon.com.

              ISBN 9780399185809
              Released NZ 22 Aug 2017
              Publisher Blue Rider Press
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Mary Coin
                

              Mary Coin (Audio CD / Audio)

              By Silver, Marisa; Read by Kaminsky, Eva; Fraser, Alison; Zeisler, Mark

              • RRP: $125.50
              • $125.50
              • In Stock US

              In her first novel since The God of War, the critically acclaimed author Marisa Silver takes Dorothea Lange's Migrant Mother photograph as inspiration for a breathtaking reinvention--a story of two women, one famous and one forgotten, and of the remarkable legacy of their chance ...encounter. In 1936, a young mother resting by the side of a road in Central California is spontaneously photographed by a woman documenting the migrant laborers who have taken to America's farms in search of work. Little personal information is exchanged, and neither woman has any way of knowing that they have produced what will become the most iconic image of the Great Depression. Three vibrant characters anchor the narrative of Mary Coin. Mary, the migrant mother herself, who emerges as a woman with deep reserves of courage and nerve, with private passions and carefully-guarded secrets. Vera Dare, the photographer wrestling with creative ambition who makes the choice to leave her children in order to pursue her work. And Walker Dodge, a present-day professor of cultural history, who discovers a family mystery embedded in the picture. In luminous, exquisitely rendered prose, Silver creates an extraordinary tale from a brief moment in history, and reminds us that although a great photograph can capture the essence of a moment, it only scratches the surface of a life.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780553546460
              Released NZ 1 Jul 2014
              Publisher Books on Tape
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              The God of War
                

              The God of War (Audio CD / Audio)

              By Silver, Marisa; Read by Brick, Scott

              • RRP: $153.99
              • $125.53
              • Save $28.46
              • In Stock US

              In a scruffy desert town in California in 1978, a twelve-year-old boy struggles with the guilt and responsibility stemming from his family situation, a mentally handicapped brother and misguided mother.

              ISBN 9781433212253
              Released NZ 1 Apr 2008
              Publisher Blackstone Audiobooks
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              Total 10 jump to: go