Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Kate Eastham

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 7 jump to: go
              Coming Home to Liverpool
               

              Coming Home to Liverpool (Paperback)

              By Eastham, Kate

              • RRP: $21.00
              • $15.75
              • Save $5.25
              • Pub Date
                20 Feb 20

              A stirring and inspiring story which is perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Call The Midwife Liverpool 1872 Arriving back in her hometown after spending two years training at the Infirmary for Women in New York, Maud can't wait to put her new-found skills to the test. But in a... city built and run by men she must work hard to be accepted. Whilst her nurse friends welcome her back with open arms there are others who do not wish her well, including the spiteful Nancy Sellers. Nancy resented Maud's talents as a nurse and seeing her arrive back with such fanfare puts her nose firmly out of joint. She will stop at nothing to sabotage Maud's life and soon turns her attention to those Maud holds most dear. But Maud Linklater is made of strong stuff and together with her friends, Alice and Eddie, can she overcome any obstacle Nancy, and Liverpool, might throw her way? Praise for Kate Eastham 'Deftly written and moving' Woman's Own 'A heart-warming and tear-inducing tale with wonderfully realistic characters' Woman
              Read more

              ISBN 9780241371268
              Released NZ 20 Feb 2020
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age 16+ years
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once released
              View details for this title
              Daughters of Liverpool

              Daughters of Liverpool (Paperback)

              By Eastham, Kate

              • RRP: $21.00
              • $15.75
              • Save $5.25
              • To Order

              Liverpool 1868. Alice, a trainee nurse, has just given birth to a baby girl outside of wedlock. The child is beautiful but she feels adrift and misses her life and friends at the Liverpool Royal Infirmary. After Head Nurse Ada informs her she can return to the hospital, Alice is ...torn. She's desperate to get back to healing the sick but it would mean leaving little Victoria with her friend Stella every night. But her friends hold her hand every step of the way and Alice soon realises she can be a good mother and a fine nurse all at the same time. She also starts to enjoy the fluttering of romance as she grows closer to Reverend Seed, the hospital Chaplain. But Alice's peaceful life is shattered when Jamie Clayton, her baby's father, walks into the ward one day. She has to decide where her heart truly lies and what is best for her and baby Victoria.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780241371244
              Released NZ 11 Jul 2019
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age 16+ years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
              View details for this title
              The Liverpool Nightingales
                

              The Liverpool Nightingales (EPUB ebook)

              By Eastham, Kate

              A heart-warming and moving tale of courage and friendship set in Victorian Liverpool, for fans of Call the Midwife, Daisy Styles and Nadine Dorries. 'Deftly written and moving' Woman's Own __________ Liverpool, 1870One act of kindness will change a young woman's life forever . . .... On the dirty backstreets of Liverpool, housemaid Maud Linklater witnesses an appalling accident. Rushing young chimney-sweep Alfie to hospital, she helps nurse the boy on the overcrowded ward - and finds herself with a new job. Maud cannot believe her luck at joining trainees Alice and Eddy at the new Nurses' Training School and they form the closest of bonds. Then one day Alfie is abducted. Maud and the girls know the alleyways and slums of Liverpool are no place for a lost little boy. Can these determined women find Alfie before it's too late?'A heartwarming and tear-inducing tale with wonderfully realistic characters' Woman
              Read more

              ISBN 9781405936613
              Available in EPUB
              Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
              Language en
              Released NZ 21 Feb 2019
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age 16+ years
              Series The Nursing Series
              Ebook Terms Titles are sold with a 2 year time limit, or 36 loan limit, 21 days maximum loan period view?
              Loan Credits 36
              Each copy purchased buys 36 loan credits to be used on your eplatform portal
              View details for this title
              Daughters of Liverpool
                

              Daughters of Liverpool (EPUB ebook)

              By Eastham, Kate

              'A warm and satisfying story' My WeeklyFrom the author of The Liverpool Nightingales comes an uplifting and emotional tale, perfect for fans of Call the Midwife, Downton Abbey and Annie Groves. Is a mother's love enough to protect her child? ___________Liverpool 1868.Shrouded in ...secrecy Alice Sampson gives birth to a beautiful baby girl.But the former nurse's happiness is blighted by the knowledge that as a penniless, unwed mother, her future, and that of her child, can only be one of shame and disgrace.Then a knock at the door brings a miracle: she is invited to return to the Liverpool Royal Infirmary and her beloved ward.With the help of her friends and the welcome attentions of Reverend Seed, the hospital Chaplain, Alice slowly starts to rebuild her life.Everything is looking up, until her baby's father unexpectedly shows up to claim the child he knew nothing about. Suddenly Alice is in danger of losing her baby, her position and her whole future . . .Praise for Kate Eastham 'Deftly written and moving' Woman's Own 'A heartwarming and tear-inducing tale with wonderfully realistic characters' Woman
              Read more

              ISBN 9780241371251
              Available in EPUB
              Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
              Language en
              Released NZ 8 Aug 2019
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age 16+ years
              Ebook Terms Titles are sold with a 2 year time limit, or 36 loan limit, 21 days maximum loan period view?
              Loan Credits 36
              Each copy purchased buys 36 loan credits to be used on your eplatform portal
              View details for this title
              Miss Nightingale's Nurses: During the toughest of times, has she finally found her calling?
                

              Miss Nightingale's Nurses: During the toughest of times, has she finally found her calling? (EPUB ebook)

              By Eastham, Kate

              'Deftly written . . . a moving account of loss, as well as self-discovery and achievement' Woman's Own The first heart-warming novel in Kate Eastham's nursing series . . . _________From the docks of Liverpool to a distant battlefield, can one girl find her brother and save hersel...f? Ada Houston's life is shattered when her brother Frank goes missing following an accident at the docks. But a short time later she hears a rumour that he survived and left Liverpool to fight a foreign war. Determined not to lose him a second time she boards a ship to bring him home. But the battlefields of the Crimea are a hostile place for a penniless young woman. Then one day a lifeline is thrown her way as she is offered the chance to train as a nurse under the famous Florence Nightingale. Working in the most terrible of conditions, Ada shows an aptitude beyond anyone's expectations as she cares for her injured countrymen, makes new friends and enjoys the first flutter of romance. But Frank is still missing and she needs to find him before it's too late . . .
              Read more

              ISBN 9781405935906
              Available in EPUB
              Software Read in Browser or Adobe Ebook Compatible Device
              Language en
              Released NZ 9 Aug 2018
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series The Nursing Series
              Ebook Terms Titles are sold with a 2 year time limit, or 36 loan limit, 21 days maximum loan period view?
              Loan Credits 36
              Each copy purchased buys 36 loan credits to be used on your eplatform portal
              View details for this title
              The Liverpool Nightingales

              The Liverpool Nightingales (Paperback)

              By Eastham, Kate

              • RRP: $26.00
              • $19.50
              • Save $6.50
              • To Order

              FOLLOWING ON FROM KATE EASTHAM'S DEBUT THE NIGHTINGALE NURSES Liverpool 1867. Stella works in a brothel near the docks, but when one of her regular customers falls ill her life changes forever. She is forced to take him to the Liverpool Royal Infirmary, leaving him propped agains...t a pillar on the steps of the brand new Nurses' Home and Training school. Sneaking in to visit one day Maud meets Ada Huston, Assistant Superintendent nurse, who persuades her to take a chance on herself, for once, and train to become a nurse. Maud is about to learn that she is capable of so much more than she ever believed - of making a difference, of helping those in need and of living a life she is proud of.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781405936606
              Released NZ 21 Feb 2019
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age 16+ years
              Series The Nursing Series
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
              View details for this title
              Miss Nightingale's Nurses: During the toughest of times, has she finally found her calling?

              Miss Nightingale's Nurses: During the toughest of times, has she finally found her calling? (Paperback)

              By Eastham, Kate

              • RRP: $26.00
              • $19.50
              • Save $6.50
              • To Order

              Liverpool 1838. Ada Houston is alone. Her brother has gone missing, last seen working on the Liverpool docks, and everyone assumes him to be dead. But she will not give up hope. Ada's determined search takes her to the Crimea where she joins the team of Florence Nightingale's nur...ses. She may have set off looking for her brother, but along the way Ada finds friends, romance and a new purpose in her own life.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781405935890
              Released NZ 15 Aug 2018
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series The Nursing Series
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), usually ships 4-6 weeks
              View details for this title
              Total 7 jump to: go