Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Kate Eastham

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 6 jump to: go
              Coming Home to Liverpool

              Coming Home to Liverpool (Paperback)

              By Eastham, Kate

              • RRP: $21.00
              • $15.75
              • Save $5.25
              • To Order

              A stirring and inspiring story which is perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Call The Midwife Liverpool 1872 Arriving back in her hometown after spending two years training at the Infirmary for Women in New York, Maud can't wait to put her new-found skills to the test. But in a... city built and run by men she must work hard to be accepted. Whilst her nurse friends welcome her back with open arms there are others who do not wish her well, including the spiteful Nancy Sellers. Nancy resented Maud's talents as a nurse and seeing her arrive back with such fanfare puts her nose firmly out of joint. She will stop at nothing to sabotage Maud's life and soon turns her attention to those Maud holds most dear. But Maud Linklater is made of strong stuff and together with her friends, Alice and Eddie, can she overcome any obstacle Nancy, and Liverpool, might throw her way? Praise for Kate Eastham 'Deftly written and moving' Woman's Own 'A heart-warming and tear-inducing tale with wonderfully realistic characters' Woman
              Read more

              ISBN 9780241371268
              Released NZ 20 Feb 2020
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age 16+ years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
              View details for this title
              Daughters of Liverpool

              Daughters of Liverpool (Paperback)

              By Eastham, Kate

              • RRP: $21.00
              • $15.75
              • Save $5.25
              • To Order

              Liverpool 1868. Alice, a trainee nurse, has just given birth to a baby girl outside of wedlock. The child is beautiful but she feels adrift and misses her life and friends at the Liverpool Royal Infirmary. After Head Nurse Ada informs her she can return to the hospital, Alice is ...torn. She's desperate to get back to healing the sick but it would mean leaving little Victoria with her friend Stella every night. But her friends hold her hand every step of the way and Alice soon realises she can be a good mother and a fine nurse all at the same time. She also starts to enjoy the fluttering of romance as she grows closer to Reverend Seed, the hospital Chaplain. But Alice's peaceful life is shattered when Jamie Clayton, her baby's father, walks into the ward one day. She has to decide where her heart truly lies and what is best for her and baby Victoria.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780241371244
              Released NZ 11 Jul 2019
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age 16+ years
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
              View details for this title
              The Liverpool Nightingales

              The Liverpool Nightingales (Paperback)

              By Eastham, Kate

              • RRP: $26.00
              • $19.50
              • Save $6.50
              • To Order

              FOLLOWING ON FROM KATE EASTHAM'S DEBUT THE NIGHTINGALE NURSES Liverpool 1867. Stella works in a brothel near the docks, but when one of her regular customers falls ill her life changes forever. She is forced to take him to the Liverpool Royal Infirmary, leaving him propped agains...t a pillar on the steps of the brand new Nurses' Home and Training school. Sneaking in to visit one day Maud meets Ada Huston, Assistant Superintendent nurse, who persuades her to take a chance on herself, for once, and train to become a nurse. Maud is about to learn that she is capable of so much more than she ever believed - of making a difference, of helping those in need and of living a life she is proud of.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781405936606
              Released NZ 21 Feb 2019
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age 16+ years
              Series The Nursing Series
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
              View details for this title
              Miss Nightingale's Nurses: During the toughest of times, has she finally found her calling?

              Miss Nightingale's Nurses: During the toughest of times, has she finally found her calling? (Paperback)

              By Eastham, Kate

              • RRP: $26.00
              • $19.50
              • Save $6.50
              • To Order

              Liverpool 1838. Ada Houston is alone. Her brother has gone missing, last seen working on the Liverpool docks, and everyone assumes him to be dead. But she will not give up hope. Ada's determined search takes her to the Crimea where she joins the team of Florence Nightingale's nur...ses. She may have set off looking for her brother, but along the way Ada finds friends, romance and a new purpose in her own life.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781405935890
              Released NZ 15 Aug 2018
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series The Nursing Series
              Availability
              Indent title (internationally sourced), allow 8-12 weeks
              View details for this title
              When the World Stood Still: Heartbreaking historical fiction set in the time of the Spanish flu
                

              When the World Stood Still: Heartbreaking historical fiction set in the time of the Spanish flu (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Eastham, Kate

              • RRP: $32.99
              • $21.01
              • Save $11.98
              • No availability locally

              The nurses were putting in twelve-hour shifts now, day and night. Emily felt broken inside, dried out, not even capable of tears. They were short-staffed after a softly spoken Irish nurse, who'd only been with them for four days, had died from the deadly flu and two more had fall...en ill. And more patients were coming in every hour, though the hospital beds were already full... 1918. Twenty-year-old Emily Burdon has been training as a nurse in London, learning on the job as she tends to patients from the crowded poorhouses that ring the hospital as well as wounded soldiers returning from the war. She pours her heart into her nursing while she waits for happier times - peace in Europe and the return of her childhood sweetheart Lewis from the Western Front. But when the deadly Spanish Flu arrives in London on the heels of the war, Emily's faith and courage are put to the test. All around her men and women in the prime of their lives are wasting away, and until a cure is found there is nothing for Emily and her colleagues to do except make them comfortable, treat them as best they can... and, eventually, ease the pain of their passing. But then Lewis catches the deadly flu himself on his way back home, just as a new doctor is transferred to head up Emily's ward. From the distant land of Prince Edward Island in Canada, Dr James Cantor is the first of a generations-old farming family to have left the island, and wartime London feels a long way away from the rugged beauty of his homeland. But despite their differences, he and Emily find common ground in their passion for helping patients and stopping the spread of the disease. But with life forever changed around her and Lewis' future hanging by a thread, can Emily survive the most terrible epidemic in the history with her life - and heart - intact? A heartbreaking historical novel based on true history - emotional and unforgettable. Perfect for fans of Jean Grainger, The Beantown Girls and Diney Costeloe. What readers are
              Read more

              ISBN 9781800194885
              Released NZ 22 Feb 2021
              Publisher Bookouture
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
              View details for this title
              An Angel's Work: Heartbreaking and unputdownable World War 2 historical fiction
                

              An Angel's Work: Heartbreaking and unputdownable World War 2 historical fiction (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Eastham, Kate

              • RRP: $32.99
              • $21.01
              • Save $11.98
              • No availability locally

              Jo forced herself to look into the cot, but at first all she could see was grey dust from the explosion. Then, a tiny hand poked out through a layer of grit. In seconds she had the child scooped up and she could feel its little body warm against her own. She felt an almost painfu...l surge of emotion welling up from the pit of her stomach. With tears pouring down her cheeks, she stood rocking and soothing the baby, knowing there was very little chance the child's mother had survived. England, 1941. After three nights of relentless bombing from German aircraft, trained nurse Jo Brooks is told to report to the basement theatre of Mill Road Hospital. She goes with a heavy heart, not wanting to leave behind her best friend Moira, who is desperately soothing new mothers on the maternity ward. As Jo arrives safely underground, the ward takes a direct hit. Pulling herself from the rubble, Jo's first priority must be her patients... but she can't stop herself frantically searching for Moira. When Jo eventually finds her, buried beneath a foot of bricks and stone, Moira is barely clinging to life. Jo makes a solemn vow: she will do whatever it takes to help the allies win the war, even if it means sacrificing her own safety. The opportunity to make good on her promise comes sooner than she expects - nurses are badly needed to evacuate wounded allies across enemy lines. It will be dangerous, heartbreaking work and her life will be at risk every moment, but Jo knows that the moment has come to prove herself at last... A powerfully emotional wartime novel about friendship and love in the most terrible of circumstances. Perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Jean Grainger and Soraya M. Lane. What readers are saying about Kate Eastham: 'If I could give it 10 stars I would, as in my honest opinion this is one of the best historical fiction books I have read in a long time... a book I know I will not forget.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 'Every now and again you just need a darn good hear
              Read more

              ISBN 9781800190757
              Released NZ 21 Oct 2020
              Publisher Bookouture
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
              View details for this title
              Total 6 jump to: go