Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Lydia Davis

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 54 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
              Essays

              Essays (Hardback)

              By Davis, Lydia

              • RRP: $50.00
              • $37.50
              • Save $12.50
              • In Stock At Publisher

              From the International Man Booker Prize-winning author of Can't and Won't and The End of the Story - a crystalline collection of literary essays for fans of Susan Sontag and Joan Didion 'Among my most favourite writers. Read her now!' A. M. Homes The visionary, fearless Lydia Dav...is presents a dazzling collection of essays on reading and writing, exploring the full scope of possibility within existing forms of literature and considering how we might challenge and reinvent these forms. Through Thomas Pynchon, Michel Leiris, Maurice Blanchot, Lucia Berlin, Joan Mitchell and others, he author considers her many creative influences. And, through these lenses, she returns to her own writing process, her relationship to language and the written word. Beautifully formed, thought-provoking, playful and illuminating, these pieces are a masterclass in reading and writing.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780241371473
              Released NZ 22 Nov 2019
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
              View details for this title
              Letters to the Lady Upstairs

              Letters to the Lady Upstairs (Hardback)

              By Proust, Marcel; Translated by Davis, Lydia

              • RRP: $27.99
              • $20.99
              • Save $7.00
              • In Stock At Publisher

              A charming, funny, poignant collection of twenty-three letters from Marcel Proust to his upstairs neighbour

              ISBN 9780008262891
              Released NZ 15 Jan 2018
              Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              In stock at publisher; delivery usually 15-20 working days due to covid19 delays
              View details for this title
              The Rendezvous: A Novel
                

              The Rendezvous: A Novel (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By L evy, Justine; Davis, Lydia

              • RRP: $28.50
              • $25.44
              • Save $3.06
              • No availability locally

              The Rendezvous is a beautiful and evocative first novel that blurs all lines between memoir and fiction. In a painfully sentimental journey, Louise, a sophisticated eighteen-year-old Parisian student, sits in a cafe awaiting the arrival of her long-absent mother, an aging hippie ...and former fashion model. As the hours pass and Louise waits, she reaches deeper and deeper into her store of memory, recalling the early failure of her parents' marriage. Louise remembers how brief and unfulfilling meetings with her mother have punctuated her safe and secure life with her father, a world-renowned conductor. Carefully walking the balance between anticipation and fear, Louise meditates upon the chaos of her mother's life, a life of decadence, drugs, and irresponsibility. Coming face-to-face with the powerful love she feels for her mother, Louise wryly acknowledges the complexity of a relationship filled with countless letdowns and unwavering devotion. Written with a wisdom that transcends age and the wit and savvy of a true survivor, The Rendezvous is a poignant examination of the transition to young adulthood and the often startling awareness of a parent's fallibility.
              Read more

              ISBN 9780684846323
              Released NZ 15 Apr 1999
              Publisher Simon & Schuster
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
              View details for this title
              The Life Of Henry Brulard
               

              The Life Of Henry Brulard (Paperback, Main)

              By Stendhal; Preface by Davis, Lydia; Translated by Sturrock, John

              • RRP: $29.99
              • $23.99
              • Save $6.00
              • To Order/ Indent titles

              The Life of Henry Brulard is a vivid memoir that is also an extraordinary work of the imagination.

              ISBN 9780940322899
              Released NZ 15 Sep 2006
              Publisher Misc - United Book Distributor
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Indent title (sourced internationally), usually ships 4-6 weeks post release/order
              View details for this title
              Tocqueville: A Biography

              Tocqueville: A Biography (Trade Paperback / Paperback, New edition)

              Translated by Hemenway, Robert E.; By Jardin, Andre; Translated by Davis, Lydia; Hemenway, R.

              • RRP: $73.99
              • $70.29
              • Save $3.70
              • Temporarily out of stock

              A biography of Tocqueville following his death. The author provides an account which explores the complex factors which shaped Tocqueville's writing, opinions, political career and personal life.

              ISBN 9780801860676
              Released NZ 15 Dec 1998
              Publisher FOOTPRINT BOOKS
              Interest Age 19+ years
              Availability
              Title is temporarily out of stock
              View details for this title
              Letters to the Lady Upstairs
                

              Letters to the Lady Upstairs (EPUB ebook – ePub edition)

              By Proust, Marcel; Translated by Davis, Lydia

              A charming, funny, poignant collection of twenty-three letters from Marcel Proust to his upstairs neighbour

              ISBN 9780008262884
              Available in EPUB
              Software Adobe Ebook Compatible Devices
              Language en
              Released NZ 23 Oct 2017
              Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
              Interest Age General Audience
              Ebook Terms 26 loan limit on HarperCollins titles view?
              Loan Credits 26
              Each copy purchased buys 26 loan credits to be used on your eplatform portal
              View details for this title
              Two American Scenes

              Two American Scenes (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Davis, Lydia; Weinberger, Eliot

              • RRP: $19.99
              • $19.99
              • To Order/ Indent titles

              Part of our revived Poetry Pamphlet series, Two American Scenes features two masters of the essay discussing found material.

              ISBN 9780811220415
              Released NZ 26 Mar 2013
              Publisher John Wiley & Sons Australia Lt
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series New Directions Poetry Pamphlets
              Availability
              Indent title (sourced internationally), usually ships 4-6 weeks post release/order
              View details for this title
              Madame Bovary
               

              Madame Bovary (Hardback)

              By Flaubert, Gustave; Illustrated by Hische, Jessica; Translated by Davis, Lydia

              • RRP: $46.99
              • $46.84
              • Save $0.15
              • No availability locally

              This translation first published ... 2010 --T.p. verso.

              ISBN 9780143123804
              Released NZ 31 Jan 2013
              Publisher Penguin
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series Penguin Drop Caps
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
              View details for this title
              XY: On Masculine Identity
               

              XY: On Masculine Identity (Hardback)

              By Badinter, Elisabeth; Translated by Davis, Lydia

              • RRP: $234.99
              • $234.99
              • Not Available Locally

              Examining changing role models for masculine identity--from cowboy in the 1950s to Terminator in the 1990s, from flesh-and-blood man to machine--this book suggests that men need new role models and that sufficient room needs to be left for the expression of male vulnerability.

              ISBN 9780231084345
              Released NZ 15 Jan 1995
              Publisher John Wiley & Sons Australia Lt
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series European Perspectives: A Series in Social Thought and Cultural Criticism
              Availability
              Internationally sourced on backorder; allow 4-8 weeks
              View details for this title
              XY: On Masculine Identity
                

              XY: On Masculine Identity (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Badinter, Elisabeth; Translated by Davis, Lydia

              • RRP: $113.99
              • $101.18
              • Save $12.81
              • No availability locally

              Examining changing role models for masculine identity--from cowboy in the 1950s to Terminator in the 1990s, from flesh-and-blood man to machine--this book suggests that men need new role models and that sufficient room needs to be left for the expression of male vulnerability.

              ISBN 9780231084352
              Released NZ 15 Jan 1997
              Publisher John Wiley & Sons Australia Lt
              Interest Age General Audience
              Series European Perspectives: A Series in Social Thought and Cultural Criticism
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; usually ships 2-3 weeks
              View details for this title
              Total 54 jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›