Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Category
          Publication Country
            Latest Additions
            Language
              Price
              -

              Books by Magda Hellinger

              Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

              Total 5 jump to: go
              The Nazis Knew My Name: A remarkable story of survival and courage in Auschwitz

              The Nazis Knew My Name: A remarkable story of survival and courage in Auschwitz (Trade Paperback / Paperback)

              By Hellinger, Magda; Lee, Maya; With Brewster, David

              • RRP: $37.99
              • $29.63
              • Save $8.36
              • In Stock At Publisher

              The extraordinarily moving memoir by Australian Slovakian Holocaust survivor Magda Hellinger, who saved an untold number of lives at Auschwitz through everyday acts of courage, kindness and ingenuity. In March 1942, twenty-five-year-old kindergarten teacher Magda Hellinger and ne...arly a thousand other young Slovakian women were deported to Poland on the second transportation of Jewish people sent to the Auschwitz concentration camp. The women were told they'd be working at a shoe factory. At Auschwitz the SS soon discovered that by putting Jewish prisoners in charge of the day-to-day running of the accommodation blocks, camp administration and workforces, they could both reduce the number of guards required and deflect the distrust of the prisoner population away from themselves. Magda was one such prisoner selected for leadership and over three years served in many prisoner leader roles, from room leader, to block leader - at one time in charge of the notorious Experimental Block 10 where reproductive experiments were performed on hundreds of women - and eventually camp leader, responsible for 30,000 women. She found herself constantly walking a dangerously fine line: using every possible opportunity to save lives while avoiding suspicion by the SS, and risking torture or execution. Through her bold intelligence, sheer audacity, inner strength and shrewd survival instincts, she was able to rise above the horror and cruelty of the camps and build pivotal relationships with the women under her watch, and even some of Auschwitz's most notorious Nazi senior officers including the Commandant, Josef Kramer. Based on Magda's personal account and completed by her daughter Maya's extensive research, including testimonies from fellow Auschwitz survivors, this awe-inspiring tale offers us incredible insight into human nature, the power of resilience, and the goodness that can shine through even in the most horrific of conditions.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781760859299
              Published NZ 1 Sep 2021
              Publisher Simon & Schuster Australia
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              526 In stock at publisher; delivery usually 20-30 working days due to covid19 delays
              View details for this title
              The Nazis Knew My Name: A Remarkable Story of Survival and Courage in Auschwitz
                

              The Nazis Knew My Name: A Remarkable Story of Survival and Courage in Auschwitz (Hardback)

              By Hellinger, Magda; Lee, Maya; With Brewster, David

              • RRP: $57.50
              • $45.07
              • Save $12.43
              • Pub Date
                9 Nov 21

              The extraordinarily moving memoir by a Holocaust survivor who saved an untold number of lives at Auschwitz through everyday acts of courage and kindness--in the vein of A Bookshop in Berlin and The Nazi Officer's Wife. In March 1942, twenty-five-year-old kindergarten teacher Magd...a Hellinger and nearly a thousand other young women were deported as some of the first Jews to be sent to the Auschwitz concentration camp. The SS soon discovered that by putting prisoners in day-to-day charge of the accommodation blocks, they could deflect attention away from themselves. Magda was one such prisoner selected for leadership and put in charge of hundreds of women in the notorious Experimental Block 10. She found herself constantly walking a dangerously fine line: saving lives while avoiding suspicion by the SS and risking execution. Through her inner strength and shrewd survival instincts, she was able to rise above the horror and cruelty of the camps and build pivotal relationships with the women under her watch, and even some of Auschwitz's most notorious Nazi senior officers. Based on Magda's personal account and completed by her daughter's extensive research, this awe-inspiring tale offers us incredible insight into human nature, the power of resilience, and the goodness that can shine through even in the most horrific of conditions.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781982181222
              Publisher Atria Books
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 9 Nov 2021
              View details for this title
              The Nazis Knew My Name
               

              The Nazis Knew My Name (Hardback)

              By Lee, Maya; Hellinger, Magda; With Brewster, David

              • RRP: $54.99
              • $41.75
              • Save $13.24
              • In Stock UK

              The Nazis Knew My Name is one woman's story about the bravery and kindness shown by her mother in the Holocaust concentration camps. In the camps during the Second World War, prisoner Magda Hellinger Blau was selected by the SS as a Jewish prison leader and she eventually rises t...o the senior position of Lageralteste (Camp Elder). Madga used her proximity to her fellow prisoners and the SS to engage in numerous acts of kindness, bravery and compassion to keep the prisoners alive in frightening and uncertain circumstances. Now, her daughter Maya Lee tells the definitive story of her mother, a woman who showed great bravery and compassion when stuck between worlds of authority and imprisonment. Using her mother's short memoir as a starting point, this book is Maya Lee's deep-dive into her mother's life and the power of kindness in the face of adversity, as she connects with fellow Auschwitz survivors and forms new friendships throughout her journey. The Nazis Knew My Name is a poignant and personal exploration of the prisoners in the Holocaust camps and the need to still tell these stories almost 70 years on.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781398506268
              Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Internationally sourced; ships 6-14 working days
              View details for this title
              The Nazis Knew My Name
                

              The Nazis Knew My Name (Paperback)

              By Lee, Maya; Hellinger, Magda; With Brewster, David

              • RRP: $29.50
              • $22.09
              • Save $7.41
              • Pub Date
                7 Jul 22
              ISBN 9781398506299
              Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 7 Jul 2022
              View details for this title
              Nazis Knew My Name: A Remarkable Story of Survival and Courage in Auschwitz
                 

              Nazis Knew My Name: A Remarkable Story of Survival and Courage in Auschwitz (Audio CD / Audio)

              By Hellinger, Magda; Lee, Maya; Contributions by Brewster, David

              • RRP: $84.99
              • $66.76
              • Save $18.23
              • Pub Date
                9 Nov 21

              The extraordinarily moving memoir by a Holocaust survivor who saved an untold number of lives at Auschwitz through everyday acts of courage and kindness--in the vein of A Bookshop in Berlin and The Nazi Officer's Wife.In March 1942, twenty-five-year-old kindergarten teacher Magda... Hellinger and nearly a thousand other young women were deported as some of the first Jews to be sent to the Auschwitz concentration camp. The SS soon discovered that by putting prisoners in day-to-day charge of the accommodation blocks, they could deflect attention away from themselves. Magda was one such prisoner selected for leadership and put in charge of hundreds of women in the notorious Experimental Block 10. She found herself constantly walking a dangerously fine line: saving lives while avoiding suspicion by the SS and risking execution. Through her inner strength and shrewd survival instincts, she was able to rise above the horror and cruelty of the camps and build pivotal relationships with the women under her watch, and even some of Auschwitz's most notorious Nazi senior officers. Based on Magda's personal account and completed by her daughter's extensive research, this awe-inspiring tale offers us incredible insight into human nature, the power of resilience, and the goodness that can shine through even in the most horrific of conditions.
              Read more

              ISBN 9781797133393
              Publisher Simon & Schuster Audio
              Interest Age General Audience
              Availability
              Available for pre-order, ships once internationally released 9 Nov 2021
              View details for this title
              Total 5 jump to: go