Wheelers Books
Refine By
Publication Date
Fiction / Non-Fiction
    Age
      Format
        Extended Format
        Show Large Print:
        Publication Country
          Latest Additions
          Language
            Price
            -
            Stock Availability: Sort by: View:

            Total 3.30K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›
            Southern Spirit: The People and Places of Southland
             

            Southern Spirit: The People and Places of Southland (Paperback)

            By Dougherty, Ian

            • RRP: $30.00
            • $30.00
            • Available

            An extensively illustrated book on the forms, flora, fauna, food, folk, fascinations and fun of the Southland region of New Zealand.

            ISBN 9780473512712
            Published NZ 1 May 2020
            Publisher Misc - South Pacific Books
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Showing available from publisher, allow 2-4 weeks for delivery
            View details for this title
            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate

            The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Trade Paperback / Paperback, Export / Airside)

            By Campbell, Nancy

            • RRP: $37.99
            • $29.63
            • Save $8.36
            • Delayed Release

            A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.

            ISBN 9781471169328
            Released NZ 1 Dec 2018
            Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Pre-order title, release date has been delayed
            View details for this title
            The Making of Poetry: Coleridge, the Wordsworths and Their Year of Marvels
             

            The Making of Poetry: Coleridge, the Wordsworths and Their Year of Marvels (Paperback)

            By Nicolson, Adam

            • RRP: $35.99
            • $28.79
            • Save $7.20
            • Internationally sourced

            Wordsworth and Coleridge as you've never seen them before in this new book by Adam Nicolson, brimming with poetry, art and nature writing. Proof that poetry can change the world.

            ISBN 9780008126490
            Released NZ 1 Apr 2020
            Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
            Interest Age General Audience
            Availability
            Internationally sourced (OOS locally); ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Hinduism: The Basics
             

            Hinduism: The Basics (Paperback)

            By Shukla-Bhatt, Neelima

            • RRP: $44.99
            • $44.99
            • Pub Date
              3 Jan 21

            Hinduism: The Basics introduces the rich diversity of the complex of Hindu traditions by exploring key elements such as: religious practices such as pilgrimage, meditation and life cycle rituals; the organisation of Hindu society into castes and related social justice issues; the... spread of Hinduism around the world, the rise of Hindu nationalism and other challenges of modernity; sacred texts in both Sanskrit and in vernacular languages of South Asia; and Hindu worldviews including karma, reincarnation and ethics. Featuring a glossary, maps, timeline and list of key deities, this is an ideal introduction to the Hindu tradition for undergraduates and others new to the study of Hinduism.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780415716468
            Released NZ 3 Jan 2021
            Publisher Taylor & Francis Ltd
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Series The Basics
            Availability
            Available for pre-order, ships once released
            View details for this title
            World Regnl Geogrphy&Geogrphy

            World Regnl Geogrphy&Geogrphy (Hardback)

            By Clawson

            ISBN 9780131042506
            Released NZ 27 Oct 2003
            Publisher Prentice Hall
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Availability and pricing is uncertain (no recent updates from publisher)
            View details for this title
            Places & Regions in Globl Cont

            Places & Regions in Globl Cont (Hardback)

            By Knox; Marston

            ISBN 9780131837508
            Released NZ 24 Feb 2003
            Publisher Prentice Hall
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            Availability and pricing is uncertain (no recent updates from publisher)
            View details for this title
            Peasants, Agrarian Socialism, And Rural Development In Ethiopia

            Peasants, Agrarian Socialism, And Rural Development In Ethiopia (Hardback)

            By Dejene, Alemneh

            • RRP: $271.00
            • $271.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            One of the few systematic field surveys undertaken following the 1975 agrarian reform in Ethiopia, this study analyzes the conditions constraining agricultural productivity of peasant farmers in the Arsi region and examines how farmers view peasant and government organizations es...tablished to attain agrarian socialism. Based on data generated through interviews with farmers, peasant association leaders, and extension agents, Dr. Dejene argues that the low prices for agricultural products, shortages of consumer goods, and lack of improvements in farming technology are among the major obstacles to increasing output among peasant farmers. The author also explores the government policy of transforming peasant associations into oollective farming units, which he finds is supported by only one quarter of the farmers interviewed. His study indicates that peasant institutions could best mobilize labor and resources to generate agricultural surplus and undertake conservation activities that would prevent future famine. Thus the author concludes that present government efforts should emphasize strengthening the cooperative movement rather than establishing collective farming.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780367282578
            Released NZ 27 Sep 2019
            Publisher Taylor & Francis Ltd
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Local and Regional Economic Development: Renegotiating Power Under Labour

            Local and Regional Economic Development: Renegotiating Power Under Labour (Hardback)

            By Bennett, Robert J.; Payne, Diane

            • RRP: $233.00
            • $233.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            This title was first published in 2000. Since New Labour were elected in 1997, there have been substantial changes made to local and regional economic development policy in the UK. This volume offers an up-to-date overview, setting the new policies within a wider historic context... and suggesting future developments. It examines four of these new policies in depth - Regional Development Agencies, New Deal local partnerships, Local Learning and Skills Councils, and the Small Business Service and Business link. In doing so, it offers a critical appraisal of how effective these changes have been in tackling issues such as developing human resources, skills and opportunities, developing land infrastructure and sites, capital formation and development, encouraging innovation, entrepreneurship and technological change and enhancing a supportive institutional context.
            Read more

            ISBN 9781138728349
            Released NZ 31 May 2019
            Publisher Taylor & Francis Ltd
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Irrigation Development in Africa: Lessons of Experience
             

            Irrigation Development in Africa: Lessons of Experience (Hardback)

            By Moris, Jon R.

            • RRP: $271.00
            • $271.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            Irrigation Development in Africa: Lessons of Experience is a veritable encyclopedia of information on African irrigation. It describes a significant subset of the African irrigation experience, from traditional flood recession systems to large projects like Gezira and Bura.

            ISBN 9780367013325
            Released NZ 30 Sep 2018
            Publisher Taylor & Francis Ltd
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Economics Of The Family And Farming Systems In Sub-saharan Africa: Development Perspectives
             

            Economics Of The Family And Farming Systems In Sub-saharan Africa: Development Perspectives (Hardback)

            By Singh, Ram D.

            • RRP: $271.00
            • $271.00
            • In Stock At Publisher

            This book presents an integrated analysis of the dynamics of the economics of households and farm production in the setting of a polygynous family structure and traditional agriculture in sub-Saharan rural Africa. It focuses on some basic facts about poverty among the farm people... of rural Africa.
            Read more

            ISBN 9780367012038
            Released NZ 30 Sep 2018
            Publisher Taylor & Francis Ltd
            Interest Age 19+ years
            Availability
            In stock at publisher; ships 6-12 working days
            View details for this title
            Total 3.30K jump to: go ‹ previous12345...next ›